The Metropolitan Nashville Police Department urges citizens to think “Urgency without Emergency” when determining whether to dial 9-1-1. When you want to file a police report for non-emergency incidents such as minor accidents with no injuries, vandalism or theft, contact the Metro Nashville Police Department’s non-emergency 8600 line (Nashville.gov). You may experience a brief wait, but do not hang up and dial 9-1-1. If the 9-1-1 Emergency Communications operator classifies your call as a non-emergency, the operator will ask you to hang up and dial the non-emergency number. Emergency calls have priority.
Inform the communications operator that you have a non-life threatening situation that requires police assistance.
Read More: How to File a Police Report
Provide your location. The operator will ask you for details of your situation and your present location. Provide as much information as a possible. Operators use this information to inform the responding officer of the issue before arriving at your location.
Be prepared to answer any questions the officer may ask. Information you provide is a critical component of future cases regarding your incident. Provide specific details of the incident or accident. For example, if filing a theft report, explain the item stolen in detail. If filing an accident report, explain details that led up to the accident. Provide as much information about the other car involved, if the driver leaves the scene.
Provide the names and phone numbers of any individuals that witnessed the incident. The officer will speak with any witness still present at the scene.
Provide your name and contact information. The officer may need to see identification to verify your identity.
Write down the report number the officer provides. You need the report number to obtain a physical copy of the report.
Visit the Nashville Records Division of the Administrative Services Bureau (police.nashville.gov) to obtain a physical copy of your report after waiting 72 hours. The Records Division provides report copies between the hours of 7 a.m. and 6 p.m. Monday through Friday. Provide the report number and pay the copy fee. As of July 2011, all reports are $0.15 per page.
Send a personal or cashier’s check, or money order to the Records Division to request a police report via mail at: Metro Nashville Police Department Records Division 200 James Robertson Parkway Nashville TN 37201
Include a brief statement indicating the type of report you need, the report number and your return address.
Filing a false police report in Tennessee is a Class D felony punishable by two to 12 years in a Tennessee correctional facility and a fine up to $5,000. A false police report involving reports of fires, bombings or some other life-threatening situation is a Class C felony punishable by three to 15 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.
- Nashville.gov: 862-8600 Information
- Nashville.gov: Police Department: FAQs -- Accident or Offense Reports
- Nashville.gov: Police Department: FAQs -- Accident or Offense Reports by Mail
- Baker & Associates: Making a False Report in Tennessee
- University of Tennessee, Knoxville: “An Overview of Criminal Offenses under Tennessee Law”; John M. Scheb II
- Filing a false police report in Tennessee is a Class D felony punishable by two to 12 years in a Tennessee correctional facility and a fine up to $5,000. A false police report involving reports of fires, bombings or some other life-threatening situation is a Class C felony punishable by three to 15 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.
Residing in Clarksville, Tenn., Patrice D. Wimbush has been writing since 2002, with her work appearing on various websites. Her areas of writing expertise are contract and criminal law. She holds a Master of Public Administration from Murray State University and a Master of Arts in communication from Austin Peay State University.