The difficulty of acquiring a title for a motorcycle in Oklahoma will depend on how you got the bike. It is illegal to sell a motorcycle without a title in Oklahoma, so if you purchased it without one, you may have a more difficult time obtaining a title. If you have proof the bike was abandoned or that you did work on it that was never paid for, the process can be much more standardized.
Vehicle Info Request
The Vehicle Information Request form (#769) can be downloaded from the forms section of the Oklahoma Tax Commission website. It can also be picked up from the Tax Commission office.
Fill out the form completely and have it notarized by a licensed notary public. The cost is usually about $5.00 for the notary.
Submit the Vehicle Information Request to the Oklahoma Tax Commission Motor Vehicle Division. The cost for obtaining these records will range from $1.00 to $10.00 depending on the depth and certification of the information requested.
Title 42 Paperwork
Download Title 42 Possessory Lien Procedures on Vehicles, Boats and Outboard Motors (Packet 752) from the Oklahoma Tax Commission website or pick them up from the Tax Commission office.
Fill out all forms in their entirety and have them notarized when indicated.
Send a notice of sale to the current registered owner by certified male no fewer than 10 days prior to the sale date.
If no response is received from the registered owner or no registered owner is found on the Motorcycle Vehicle Information Request, an ad must be placed in a Tax Commission approved publication; usually a newspaper. This ad must run once a day for three consecutive weeks and include the Vehicle Identification Number, make and year of the motorcycle and contact information for the person intending to sell the bike.
Confirm that all forms are completely filled out and notarized and that all conditions of the Title 42 statute have been met. Failure to meet all qualifications will result in a Title 42 denial.
- motorcycle image by Goran Bogicevic from Fotolia.com