Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office makes it easy to look up a Florida Traffic Crash Report for an accident in the county. You can identify the report and order it online at the Record's Section of the Sheriff's Office website.
What's in a Hillsborough County Police Report?
A police report generally refers to a report put together by investigating offers at a motor vehicle crash. The report summarized the information the police obtained about the accident. This can include names of drivers and passengers, witnesses, descriptions and license number of the vehicles involved and insurance data.
In Hillsborough County, Florida, this type of report is called a Florida Traffic Crash Report. Once a report is prepared, it is kept in the records section of the Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office. The customer service address of the records section is: Freddie Soloman Annex, 1900 East 9th Avenue, Tampa, Florida, 33605. It is open between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday. You can phone the office at (813) 247-8210.
How to Order a Hillsborough County Accident Report?
To order a Florida Traffic Crash Report, you can go into the office during business hours and place an order. Alternatively, and more conveniently for those who live far from Tampa, order a copy of your police report online.
If you are ordering your own traffic crash report, you can do so immediately after the accident. You'll have to download and complete a sworn affidavit specifying your interest in the proceeding, then mail it back to the office by email at firstname.lastname@example.org. The records are, for 60 days after the accident, considered confidential. They are available only to parties, attorneys and some other agencies or media outlets.
You can also order these reports by mail. Provide identifying information and mail your request to: Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office, Attention: Records Section/Freddie Solomon Annex, Post Office Box 3371, Tampa, Florida 33601, together with the fee of 15 cents per page for copying.
If you want a police report from an accident that occurred more than 60 days earlier, you can order one online. You will not need to fill out the sworn affidavit.
Alternatively, the Sheriff's Office suggests you use the LexisNexis BuyCrash.com website. LexisNexis assists law enforcement with this nationwide, automated service. You'll need to provide a report number, a VIN number of a vehicle or the party names and date of the accident.