It is not difficult to change the address on your Florida concealed weapons permit. Make sure to file your change of address within 30 days of moving.
It is not difficult to change the address on your Florida concealed weapons permit. Make sure to file your change of address within 30 days of moving. You have the option of getting a new permit without your address on it, or keeping your old permit until it expires and then getting a new one with your current information.
Florida Statutes require concealed weapon licensees to notify the Division of Licensing (DOL), in writing, within 30 days of moving. The fastest way to file your change of address is online at the DOL website. Click on the links and follow the prompts. You will be required to enter personal information, such as your social security number, date of birth, and your previous and current addresses, through a secure web server.
You can also notify the DOL of your change of address via U.S. Mail. Send a letter with your name, license number, date of birth, daytime phone, email address, previous address, new address, and signature to Division of Licensing, P.O. Box 3030, Tallahassee, Florida 32315-3030.
As of February 12, 2010, the licensee's address is no longer printed on the concealed weapons permit. Consequently, the law does not require a new permit with a change of address, just that the change of address is on file. If you would like to obtain a new permit without your address on it, send a written request to the address above, with a check or money order made payable to the Department of Licensing, and a passport-type color photograph.
- Florida concealed weapons permits are valid for seven years. You need to request in writing if you want a new permit before your old one expires. Licensees must be a resident of the United States and either a U.S. citizen or a permanent resident alien.
- Remember to file your change of address within 30 days of moving.
- hourglass image by Pavel Losevsky from Fotolia.com