Florida requires individuals who carry concealed weapons to be licensed. The state includes not only firearms but items such as stun guns and brass knuckles in the definition of a concealed weapon. Applicants must provide proof of completion of training in the safe operation of firearms. However, honorably discharged veterans can use their DD-214 to satisfy this requirement.
Verify Your Eligibility
Verify that you are eligible for a concealed weapon permit under Florida state law. You must be at least 21 years of age and a legal resident of the United States. Applicants who are convicted felons, have had two or more DUI convictions in the last three years or have a history of drug or alcohol abuse will be denied.
Obtain an Application Form
Obtain the application, instructions and a copy of Florida Statutes Chapter 790 from the website operated by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Division of Licensing. This is bundled into one file. You can download the information or request that it be mailed to you. Request the application packet by calling 850-245-5691.
Familiarize Yourself with Chapter 790
Familiarize yourself with the statutes contained in Chapter 790 of the Florida Statutes. The application states that you are expected to know and abide by these statutes.
Complete the Application
Use black ink and complete the application. Complete the personal information in Section 1, such as your name, address, sex, race, hair and eye color, place of birth and occupation.
Answer Status and Citizenship Questions
Answer "Yes" or "No" to Questions 1 through 5, which inquire about your status as a consular security officer, peace officer and U.S. citizenship.
Answer Training Questions
Answer "Yes" to Question 6, "Have you received training with a firearm as required by Section 890.06(2)(h), Florida Statutes, relating to competency with a firearm?" and include a copy of your DD-214 with your application.
Answer Criminal Background Questions
Answer "Yes" or "No" to Questions 7 through 16. These are primarily concerned with any criminal charges you may have faced or be facing.
Sign Your Application in Front of a Notary
Sign your application in front of a notary, who must affix her seal.
Have Your Fingerprints Taken
Have your fingerprints taken at a law enforcement agency. The charges for this will vary, depending on the location and whether you opt for electronic fingerprint submission.
Have Your Photograph Taken
Have your photograph taken by any source that provides passport photographs. The photograph for your concealed weapon license is the same size and quality as a passport photograph.
Mail Your Application
Mail your application, fingerprint card, photograph and fees, to:
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Division of Licensing P.O. Box 6687 Tallahassee, FL 32314-6687
Veterans who received a dishonorable discharge are not eligible to obtain a license.
Allow 90 days for the processing of your application.
- Florida Division of Licensing: Eligibility Requirements
- Florida Division of Licensing: Concealed Weapon or Firearm License Application Instructions and Chapter 790, Florida Statutes
- Florida Division of Licensing: How to Be Licensed to Carry a Concealed Weapon or Firearm
- Florida Division of Licensing: Application Fees
- Allow 90 days for the processing of your application.
- Veterans who received a dishonorable discharge are not eligible to obtain a license.
Jeffrey Joyner has had numerous articles published on the Internet covering a wide range of topics. He studied electrical engineering after a tour of duty in the military, then became a freelance computer programmer for several years before settling on a career as a writer.