It's legal to carry a gun in a car in Florida, but it's important to be aware of the rules. It's illegal to carry a concealed weapon or firearm on your person or in your car without a permit, but you can carry your gun in your car if it is in plain sight, for example, uncovered on the floorboard.
If you own a gun in the Sunshine State, you must adhere to Florida gun laws. Gun violations are taken seriously in Florida. If you want to carry a gun in a car in Florida, make sure you know what you can and can’t do. To cover all the bases, you can apply for a concealed carry permit.
Florida Gun Laws
Florida statutes prohibit the carrying of a concealed weapon or firearm on your person or in your vehicle without a permit. Carrying a concealed weapon is a third-degree felony, and carrying a concealed weapon other than a firearm is a first-degree misdemeanor.
Florida Concealed Carry Laws
It is legal to carry a gun in a car in Florida provided it is in plain sight, which means not concealed. You can have your gun lying on the passenger seat or uncovered on the floorboard. The law differentiates between concealed weapons and those that are securely encased. You can conceal a weapon within the interior of a private vehicle without a license provided it is securely encased or otherwise not readily accessible for immediate use. In other words, a firearm or other weapon cannot be carried on the person or within such close proximity and in such a way that it can be retrieved and used as easily and quickly as if it was carried on the person.
You can transport a gun in your car in Florida in a closed box or container, a zippered gun case or in a holster in the glove box, in the center console compartment or in the backseat. You can also carry a gun in the back rack of a truck. Rifles and shotguns can be carried in the interior space of a car or truck when in plain view.
Concealed Carry Permit
To err on the side of caution, you can apply for a Florida state concealed carry permit. To be eligible for a concealed carry permit, you must be 21 years of age or older, currently reside in the United States and be a U.S. citizen or a lawful permanent resident alien. You must be able to demonstrate competency with a firearm.
Get the application form from the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services and complete it electronically or on paper. You must submit your fingerprints for electronic testing and include with your application a passport-type color photograph and the approximate fee of $97, which includes the fingerprint processing fee.
- Online Sunshine: The 2018 Florida Statues Title XLVI 790.01 Unlicensed Carrying of Concealed Weapons or Concealed Firearms
- Online Sunshine: The 2018 Florida Statutes Title XLVI 790.25 Lawful Ownership, Possession, and Use of Firearms and Other Weapons
- Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services: Concealed Weapon License
- Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services: Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License Application Instructions
- a bb gun image by timur1970 from Fotolia.com