The state of Florida prohibits the possession of machine guns like the AK-47, which are defined as firearms which shoot more than once without reloading and with only one pull of the trigger, except when they are lawfully obtained according to federal law. Therefore, if you wish to own an AK-47 or other machine gun in Florida, you must look to the federal guidelines for rules on lawful ownership.
The laws governing machine guns also apply to any individual parts of a machine which may be reconstructed to form a functioning firearm. The National Firearms Act imposes a $200 tax on the transfer and manufacture of machine guns in the United States. "Transfer," in this case, refers to the sale, barter, lease or giving away of firearms. All machine guns must be registered with the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) and the U.S. Treasury, unless they are under the control of the government. This means that the owner must provide his name and address, an identification of the gun and the date of registration. Federal law strictly prohibits individual ownership of machine guns registered after May 19, 1986. Those who violate these rules may face up to ten years in prison or a $250,000 fine.
Procedure for Acquistion
Anyone wishing to possess a machine gun must pass an extensive background check by the FBI. They must keep the record of the investigation and make it available for officers of the ATF. To sell or transfer ownership of an AK-47, both parties must fill out an ATF application and the vendor must pay a $200 fee. A police officer or other law enforcement official must witness the application and proclaim any evidence that the gun will be used for unlawful purposes.
Age and License Restrictions
Florida state law prohibits the sale, gift or barter of any firearms to persons under the age of 18. A resident of the state of Florida can obtain a gun license once he reaches 21 years of age and demonstrates ability to use a firearm, as long as he is not mentally or physically impaired and has not been convicted of a felony or domestic violence charge. You are absolutely forbidden by federal law to possess a machine gun if you have been indicted or convicted of a felony, are a fugitive, have received a dishonorable discharge from the military, are an illegal alien, are under a restraining order, have been admitted to a mental institution or have an addiction to any controlled substance.
Claire Moorman has been writing since 2007. Her work has appeared in several newspapers such as the "Bedford Times-Mail" in Bedford, Ind., and "Nuvo Newsweekly." She served for two years as a reporter and assistant copy editor for "The Franklin," her college newspaper. Moorman is pursuing a Bachelor of Arts in journalism and English from Franklin College.