Florida law dictates that you must be 18 years old to operate a gun, unless you are under the age of 16 and hunting with an adult. According to Lee County Sheriff Mike Scott, Florida does not require you to obtain a license to own a gun unless you plan on carrying a concealed weapon. Florida also does not require people to register their guns.
Request an application to carry a concealed weapon permit from the Florida Department of Agriculture. The packet will include a copy of the Florida statutes chapter 790 and a fingerprint card. Read the statute before applying for the permit. The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services regulates gun licenses.
Read More: Florida Laws on Guns in the Vehicle
Division of Licensing Box 6687 Tallahassee, FL 32314-6687 850-488-3022 doacs.state.fl.us
Complete the fingerprint kit and fill out background information. This will include your social security number, birth date and a criminal background check.
Take the necessary weapons class. You will need to pass the class to receive permission to carry a concealed weapon. The Florida Firearm Training center in Cocoa is one place where you can take the weapons training class. Call for information about the class at 321-759-2612. The fee for the course is $65. You can pre-register for the course at floridafirearmstraining.com.
Get a passport-size photo taken of yourself. Submit the picture with your application packet.
Have your application notarized and then mail the application, the fingerprints, and your passport picture to the Florida Department of Agriculture. Processing the application can take up to 90 days.
Keep a copy of the application for your records.
Keep a copy of the certificate from the gun safety class for your records.
- a gun image by timur1970 from Fotolia.com