If you want to take a Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) approved defensive driving course from the comfort of your own home, look for an online course. People take defensive driving courses to dismiss a traffic violation or speeding ticket, or to avoid an increase in insurance costs. Make sure the Texas DPS defensive driving course you sign up for is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation and/or the Texas Education Agency.
Texas DPS Defensive Driving Courses
Completing a defensive driving course can prevent some Texas driving infractions and violations from adding points to your record. You should always ask for the court's permission before taking a defensive driving course to dismiss an infraction or violation, and note that in most cases, you're only allowed to take a defensive driving course once every 12 months for a traffic ticket.
A defensive driving course may also give you a discount of up to 10 percent on your auto insurance. Check with your provider before you register for a course.
The defensive driving course lasts six hours whether you take it in a classroom or online, but the benefit of taking it online is that you can do it at your own pace.
Read More: What is Defensive Driving?
Defensive Driving Course Options
Many course providers offer online options for the Texas DPS defensive driving course. A simple internet search will generate a range of possibilities. Take your time to look into each option until you find the course that suits you. While the cost can vary, most course providers set their rate at $25, which is the lowest allowed under Texas law.
ApprovedCourse.com offers an online course (approved for ticket dismissal in all Texas courts) for $25, which includes the course, your certificate and first-class delivery by USPS.
The online course from Defensive Driving Texas also costs $25 and gives you an unlimited number of opportunities to sign in and out of your course, letting you work on it whenever you like.
The Get Defensive Course is also $25 and lets you sit the final exam up to three times at no additional cost. If you fail the test on your first or second sitting, you are allowed to review all of the course material and an optional course summation before retaking the final exam.
Defensive Driving Course Reviews
Before you sign up for the 6-hour driving course online, check out what other drivers think of it. Independent websites like TrustPilot and Yelp publish reviews of defensive driving courses in Texas to help you decide which one you want. Pay attention to feedback on teaching style, clarity, accessibility and ease of use.
Online is the easiest way to take a DPS-approved defensive driving course. Online courses are quickly available given an internet search, but be sure the course you sign up for is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation and/or the Texas Education Agency.
- Texas Approved Courses: Defensive Driving Texas Course List – TDLR/TEA Approved Courses
- ApprovedCourse.com: Defensive Driving Texas
- Defensive Driving Texas
- Get Defensive: Texas Online Defensive Driving & Adult Driver's Education
- Comedy Driving: 6 Reasons To Take Texas Defensive Driving
- Under Texas law no one is allowed to charge under $25 for a Driver improvement program. This guys stick to the price.
- #1 in Texas and TEA approved.
- Use the Audio Read-along feature if you want the course to be read aloud.
- The course consists of text, video, animations and quizzes.
- The entire course is done online, from registration to final exam.
- Make sure you finish your course prior your due date.
Claire is a qualified lawyer and specialized in family law before becoming a full-time writer. She has written for many digital publications, including The Washington Post, Forbes, Vice and HealthCentral.