How to Get a Permit to Carry a Concealed Weapon in North Carolina

How to Get a Permit to Carry a Concealed Weapon in North Carolina. North Carolina is a Right-to-Carry (RTC) state. The state has a "shall issue" law that requires concealed carry permits to be obtained by residents who choose to carry a concealed weapon. As long as you are over the age of 21, have never been convicted of a felony and are a current resident you can get a permit to carry a concealed weapon in North Carolina.

Locate a concealed carry course. You will need to have proof of completion of a concealed carry course in the state of North Carolina in order to apply for a permit. Contact local shooting ranges or the NC Department of Justice for certified instructors and class availability.

Read More: How to Carry Your Concealed Weapon Across State Lines While on a Trip

Apply in person at the Sheriff's office. Applications for concealed carry permits and pistol purchase permits are available at your county's Sheriff's permit office. Bring your concealed carry class certificate and NC driver's license to the permit office.

Swear under oath in the presence of witnesses that the information provided on your application is accurate. Sign the medical records waver and allow your fingerprints to be taken.

Pay the non-refundable license fee and the fee for fingerprinting.

Return to the Sheriff's permit office to pick up your concealed carry permit. The permit office has 90 days to review your application. You will receive a phone call when your application is accepted. If your application is turned down, you will receive a written explanation by mail.

Renew your concealed carry permit every five years.


  • Long fixed blade knives, switchblades and other prohibited weapons are not covered by the NC concealed carry law.


  • The NC concealed carry permit is recognized in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington and Wyoming.

Related Articles