Because most travel trailers obscure the license plate on the back of the towing vehicle, most states require the registration of travel trailers. In North Carolina, the requirements for and process of registering a travel trailer is identical to that of registering a vehicle.
Acquire a North Carolina driver’s license and auto insurance. North Carolina law requires individuals registering a travel trailer to possess a North Carolina driver’s license. If you do not have a North Carolina driver’s license, you will need to pass a written examination. You will also need to obtain auto insurance that complies with the North Carolina motor vehicle statute.
Read More: How to Register a Trailer in Maine
Fill out the North Carolina DMV forms and have them notarized. Registering a travel trailer requires filling out three forms. On the MVR-1 form (see Resources), indicate that you are registering a travel trailer. You will also need to get the MVR-1 form notarized, which the North Carolina DMV will do for a $5 charge. Disclose any damage suffered by the travel trailer on the MVR-181 form (see Resources). On the MVR-615 form (see Resources), indicate that you are a North Carolina resident in possession of a valid North Carolina driver’s license.
File the DMV forms with a Vehicle and License Plate Renewal Office. Not all North Carolina DMV offices have the capacity to register a travel trailer. Check the NC DOT website (see Resources) to find the closest Vehicle and License Plate Renewal Office. As of 2011, the fee for registering a travel trailer is $40.
Salvatore Jackson began writing professionally in 2010. He has experience with international travel, computers, sports and law. Jackson is a licensed attorney with experience in legal research. He received his Juris Doctor from Tulane University in 2010.