Table of Contents:
Missouri allows adults who are not otherwise disqualified to purchase any legal firearm without a permit. This includes rifles, shotguns and handguns. However, federal law requires purchasers to pass a background check prior to purchasing a weapon. This background check utilizes information in the National Instant Criminal Background Check System which is maintained by the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Though some private purchases are exempt from these requirements, professional gun dealers typically must run such background checks before allowing Missourians to purchase firearms.
Missouri has no permit requirements for its citizens to possess an otherwise legal firearm, so there are no special requirements Missourians must meet after purchasing a weapon. However, some weapons are prohibited by federal law, including machine guns and rifles or shotguns that do not meet certain length requirements.
It is illegal in Missouri to possess a firearm while intoxicated, even if the weapon is unloaded. For example, a hunter in possession of his hunting rifle while intoxicated could be convicted of a misdemeanor if the gun is unloaded or a felony if it is loaded.
Federal laws disqualify certain persons from purchasing, owning and possessing firearms, and these laws apply in Missouri as well as all other states. For example, individuals who have felony or domestic assault convictions cannot buy firearms. Domestic assault convictions that were changed to another offense that involves an element of violence are also disqualifying. When Missourians purchase a weapon, they must answer questions on a federal background investigation form that identify disqualifying circumstances.
Concealed Carry Permits
While Missourians can purchase handguns and other firearms without a special permit, they cannot carry firearms in a concealed manner without a concealed carry permit. In Missouri, this permit is a special endorsement on the holder's driver's license. Local sheriffs issue these permits. Applicants must meet certain qualifications, such as being at least 21 years old, U.S. citizens and residents of Missouri or members of the military. Applicants must also attend concealed carry safety training.
Purchasing a firearm in Georgia can be a relatively easy process. You have a variety of options available, from private sellers and licensed dealers to gun shows. Unlike many states, Georgia doesn't require that you first obtain a permit before purchasing a gun. Depending on where you purchase the gun, however, you may have to meet additional requirements to complete the sale. If you want to carry your gun in public, state law requires that you first obtain a license to carry.
If you choose to purchase a gun from a licensed dealer such as a gun shop, you'll be required to provide valid, state-issued identification, such as a driver's license. You must submit to a background check. The same holds true if you make a gun purchase from a dealer at a gun show. When purchasing a gun from an unlicensed private seller, these steps are not required, but private sellers are free to make such requests as a condition of purchase. Gun registration is not required under Georgia state law.
Although you're free to purchase a gun in Georgia without first obtaining a permit, you must be eligible for possession. Generally, you must be at least 18 years of age and have no criminal convictions to purchase and possess a gun in the state. Individuals convicted of murder, rape, kidnapping, armed robbery or child molestation aren't eligible to purchase or possess a firearm in Georgia. It's also against the law for anyone to possess a "dangerous weapon" under state law, such as machine guns, sawed off shotguns and rifles, and silencers.
License to Carry
If you wish to carry your gun in public, either openly or concealed, you must first obtain a permit to carry. You can apply for a carry license at your local probate court. You'll be required to complete an application, provide valid, state-issued identification and you must be fingerprinted. You'll have to submit to a background check and pay a fee. You must be at least 21 years old, a resident of Georgia and not prohibited from firearm possession under state law. The background check requires a review of your criminal history and mental health records. Carry licenses are valid for a period of five years and may be renewed within three months of expiration.
If you're not eligible to possess a firearm or carry your gun in public or any unauthorized place without a carry license, you may be convicted of a misdemeanor for any violation. If you're caught doing so more than once within a five year period, you may convicted of a felony, which carries a penalty of up to five years in prison.