Idaho cities have adopted curfew laws that enforce restrictions on the behavior of those under age 18. These laws are implemented in cities throughout the United States in an effort to prevent juvenile crimes and prohibit minors from gathering in public establishments in the late evening until early morning hours.
In 2006, the Boise Police Department reported citing 25 juveniles for curfew violations over a weekend in response to citizen complaints about increased property crimes suspected to have been caused by juvenile activity. In 2018, this number dropped to 18 curfew violations over the course of the year. To prevent violation of this law in Idaho, understanding the requirements may lead to compliance.
Curfew Laws in Boise, Idaho
In Boise, Idaho, minors are prohibited in public establishments between midnight and 5 a.m. This applies to driving and remaining inside a parked vehicle. The exceptions are driving for work purposes, emergency issues, while in the presence of a parent or guardian or within 300 feet of the minor's residence.
Parents may provide written permission and allow a minor to participate in civic, school or religious activities with adult supervision during curfew hours. Parents and establishment owners may not knowingly violate the offense. Any person found in violation may be charged a fine up to $300 and face possible imprisonment for no more than six months.
Curfew Laws in Idaho Falls, Idaho
The curfew hours are from 1 a.m. to 5 a.m. every day in Idaho Falls, Idaho. The law states that minors may not remain in any public place, which includes buildings and streets, during curfew hours. The curfew does not apply to married minors, those out for employment purposes, and traveling on an interstate highway or for an emergency situation.
Minors who are with a parent, have written parental permission or are involved in an officially-sponsored event with adult supervision are not in violation. Minors are allowed outside the residence but no further than the sidewalk. Violators may receive a fine of $50 for the first offense. Repeated offenders, within three years of this violation or with other offenses, may be fined up to $300.
Curfew Laws in Chubbuck, Idaho
In Chubbuck, Idaho, for minors under 16 the curfew hours are 10:30 p.m. to 5 a.m. each day. Minors older than 16 and under the age of 18 have a daily curfew from midnight to 5 a.m. The public establishments and roads are prohibited areas.
Exceptions are when the minor is accompanied by a parent or guardian, has authorization from a parent or guardian to do legitimate business or errands, participates in an youth activity disclosed to the police chief or is married lawfully to a member of the military. Code violators are given a warning by the local law enforcement agency. Repeat offenders are the responsibility of the parent or guardian and may result in a petition filed in a court of competent jurisdiction regulated under the state.
Curfew Laws in Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
In Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, the curfew hours are 10:30 p.m. to 5 a.m. on Sundays through Thursdays and between midnight and 5 a.m. on Fridays or Saturdays. Minors cannot be in any place that is considered open to the public, including amusement parks. Exceptions for emergency circumstances are allowed.
The Coeur d'Alene code regarding exceptions is similar to Boise's city code. However, no information on allowing a minor outside the residence is mentioned. Parents or guardians of the minor offender are responsible for reclaiming their child if he is under police custody. Violations of the code for the parent or minor are a misdemeanor.
- City of Boise: Chapter 6-10 Curfew For Minors
- Idaho Falls Code Of Ordinances: Chapter 12 Juvenile Curfew
- Chubbuck, Idaho: Chapter 9.24 Parental Responsibilty For Children
- Coeur d'Alene, Idaho City Code: Chapter 9.44 Curfew For Minors
- Boise Police Department 2018 Report
- National Institute of Justice: Juvenile Curfew Laws
This article was written by Legal Beagle staff. If you have any questions, please reach out to us on our contact us page.