Indiana has very specific rules regarding work permits. A minor is not permitted to work in Indiana until she receives a work permit. Indiana's child labor laws require that most minors between the ages of 14 and 17 obtain a work permit before starting a job. A minor must apply for a work permit at the school she attends. If a student is homeschooled, she must apply at her local high school. There are no fees related to applying for or receiving a work permit.
How to Apply
work! image by Gleb Semenjuk from Fotolia.com
Once an employer decides to hire a minor, the employer must provide written notice to the minor's high school, using the Intent to Employ/A1 form. The notice must include the hours the minor will work and what duties he will perform. The minor then returns the form to his high school, along with a copy of his birth certificate. The high school will then issue the minor a work permit.
Restrictions: Ages 14 and 15
A 14- or 15-year-old worker is only permitted to work three hours on a school day and eight hours on a nonschool day. They are also not allowed to work before 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m. on any day. They can work a maximum of 18 hours per week during a school week and 40 hours per week during a nonschool week.
Restrictions: Age 16
A 16-year-old worker is given a bit more leeway with regards to working hours. They may work up to eight hours on a school day and up to 30 hours per school week. They may not work before 6 a.m. and can not work more than six days per week.
Restrictions: Age 17
17-year-old workers may work up to eight hours on a school day and up to 30 hours per school week. They may not work before 6 a.m. and can not work more than six days per week.
For the first 90 consecutive days of employment, Indiana employers may pay workers under the age of 20 as little as $4.25 per hour. This is considered a training wage.
Certain minors do not need to obtain a work permit to be employed in Indiana. A minor employed as a farm laborer, golf caddy, actor/actress, domestic worker or newspaper carrier does not need a work permit. Legally emancipated minors, and individuals over 16 who have graduated or withdrawn from high school also do not require work permits.