Georgia handicap parking rules exist to ensure that only people with disabilities can use handicap parking spaces. If you meet the Georgia handicap parking space requirements, you can get a temporary or permanent disabled parking permit or plate. You can apply for a permit if you have a temporary or permanent disability, but you must have a permanent disability to apply for a plate.
Georgia Handicap Parking Laws
In Georgia, it is an offence for any person to stop, stand or park in a space designated for persons with a disability unless they have a valid unexpired handicap parking permit or plate. A permit must be displayed on the driver's side of the dashboard or hung from the rearview mirror of the parked vehicle, and a plate must be attached to the vehicle.
The validity of a handicap parking permit depends on whether it is temporary or permanent. A temporary parking permit is valid for 180 days, and a permanent/special permanent parking permit is valid for four years. A special permanent parking permit can be issued for vehicles equipped with special controls for the disabled driver with upper extremity impairments. A disabled person's license plate is also valid for four years.
Apply for Handicap Parking Permit
To apply for a handicap parking permit in Georgia, complete Form MV-9D – Disabled Person’s Parking Affidavit, which you can get online or from your nearest Georgia Department of Revenue Office. There's no fee for a temporary, permanent or special permanent parking permit, but there is a $20 fee for the handicap license plate. You don’t need to own a vehicle to get a permit, but you do if you are applying for a plate. Whether temporary or permanent, a disabled parking permit should be renewed by the expiration date listed on the placard or plate.
Apply for Handicap Parking Plate
To apply for a handicap license plate, you also need to provide a vehicle registration document, such as Form MV-1 –Motor Vehicle Title/Tag Application or your registration renewal notice. When you have completed the application form, including medical certification, bring it to your local Georgia Department of Revenue tag office, together with any applicable fee.
Eligibility for Handicap Parking
To prove your eligibility for disabled person parking permits and plates in Georgia, you need certification from a licensed doctor or medical professional. Your doctor must certify that either you can’t walk 200 feet without rest; your mobility is severely disabled due to arthritic, neurological or orthopedic conditions; you suffer complications due to pregnancy; you’re restricted by lung disease; you are hearing impaired; or blind, and your central visual acuity doesn’t exceed 20/200.
- State of Georgia Department of Revenue: Disabled Person's Parking Affidavit
- Georgia Department of Driver Services: How to Apply for a Disability Parking Permit
- State of Georgia Department of Revenue: County Tag Office
- DMV.com: Information for Disabled Drivers in Georgia
- elaws.us: Georgia Code Section 40-6-226
- DMV.org: Disability Plates and Placards in Georgia
- Handicapped Parking sign image by Jim Mills from Fotolia.com