Whether you are buying a new property or are the landlord of a mobile home park, you cannot legally remove an abandoned mobile home without following certain steps outlined in Georgia law. Various forms must be filled out and submitted to the proper authorities to receive approval before you or a third party can legally remove the abandoned mobile home. This process is under the jurisdiction of the Georgia Department of Motor Vehicles, and all laws pertaining to the abandonment of mobile homes can be found in the state law code, the Official Code of Georgia Annotated.
Before any action can be taken to remove a mobile home, it must first be legally declared abandoned. According to state law, it must have been left at the dealership or repair shop for longer than 30 days, towed to different property by law enforcement and not claimed after 30 days, or left on personal property for at least 30 days.
If one of these scenarios applies, the landowner or holding agent can fill out form MV-603 at a Department of Motor Vehicles office. The DMV will then compile the names and addresses of former lessees or owners who might be responsible for abandoning their property. Any person who signs this form unlawfully--for example, if the mobile home is not actually abandoned but he wants to remove it anyway--can be fined up to $1,000 or sentenced to one year in jail.
Repair and Storage Facilities
If a mobile home is deemed abandoned in a repair or storage facility for longer than seven days, the facility must take several steps before removing it, according to state law. The facility must send a notice to the last known address, place an advertisement in the local papers for two weeks or place a notice at the county courthouse.
If the owner does not claim the mobile home or the owner cannot be located after 30 days, the county in which the mobile home has been abandoned has the legal right to sell the home. State law specifies that when a lien holder exists, the holding company must be contacted and allowed to sell the property at public auction. Proceeds of that sale go first toward satisfying the lien; any remaining funds are deposited into the county's general fund.
- Comstock Images/Stockbyte/Getty Images