Many employers pay their employees a flat salary for their work. Oklahoma businesses that do this must still comply with the state's labor laws. Knowing Oklahoma's labor laws, as they apply to salaried employees, will help employees and employers alike work towards full compliance.
Oklahoma follows the federal minimum wage which is set at $7.25 per hour as of 2010. Businesses with at least 10 employees must comply with the state's minimum wage law. This law also applies to salaried employees. This rate is determined by dividing the number of scheduled hours per week by the weekly salary.
Salaried employees are typically paid at the same weekly rate, regardless of how many hours the employee worked that week. If an employer sends an employee home early on a work day, the employee must still receive the full pay for that day. Employers may deduct pay if the employee refused to work.
Oklahoma employees who are paid a salary may still get overtime pay if they work more than 40 hours during a work week. Employees may only be exempt from overtime requirements if they make at least $455 per week and work in certain white collar jobs. These jobs include education, administration and computer technology. Blue collar and emergency workers must receive overtime pay, regardless of how much they are paid.
- help wanted image by Tom Oliveira from Fotolia.com