Non-powder guns include pellet guns, BB guns and air rifles. These guns expel an object that is made of plastic or metal by using the force of air pressure, spring action or CO2 pressure. These guns can be dangerous because they project the object from the gun at a high speed. The state of Florida has put laws into place that are designed to protect residents from injury from non-powder guns.
Florida is among the states that impose age restrictions on the possession, use or transfer of pellet guns. Other states that impose these restrictions include California, Delaware, Illinois, Minnesota, Massachusetts, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and Virginia. The state of Florida requires all minor children who are under the age of 16 years of age, to be under the direct supervision of an adult while using any type of BB gun or pellet gun. This adult must have the consent of the minor child's parents. Florida law can also place a penalty on any adult that permits their minor child to have a pellet gun or BB gun in their possession while not in their presence.
Read More: Air Gun Laws in Florida
Florida law prohibits any minor under the age of 18 years of age to possess a firearm, including BB guns, pellet guns or air rifles. Exceptions are made for minors who are at least 16 years of age and are using a pellet gun for hunting activities. Children under 16 years of age may use a pellet gun to hunt as long as an adult is present and supervising the minor. Minors who are involved in any type of marksmanship practice or competition may use a pellet gun in for this reason, as long as they are at least 16 years of age. Children who are under the age of 16 may use a pellet gun for competition or practice as long as an adult in direct supervision of the child.
Florida law penalizes any adult that is in violation of the law regarding the use of pellet guns or BB guns by minors. Any parent or guardian who allows their minor child to possess any type of BB gun or pellet gun or any other type of non-powder gun without supervision, may be punished by the court. The court may require the parent or guardian of the minor who was allowed to have possession of a non-powder gun to attend parenting education classes, and the minor may be ordered to perform community service work by the Department Of Juvenile Justice. Minors who are charged with an offense in Florida with a non-powder gun such as a pellet gun, may be detained in a juvenile justice facility and given a hearing within 24 hours. Minors who are of legal driving age, may have their driver's license suspended or revoked as well.
Tracy Hodge has been a professional writer since 2007. She currently writes content for various websites, specializing in health and fitness. Hodge also does ghostwriting projects for books, as well as poetry pieces. She has studied nutrition extensively, especially bodybuilding diets and nutritional supplements.