Louisiana’s Department of Public Safety and Corrections provides oversight for the state’s probation and parole rules. As of 2010, about 15,000 criminal justice offenders are released annually prisons or other facilities to return to communities within the state each year, according to the corrections department. Probation and parole professionals work with recently released individuals to help them gain training and life skills to help prevent their return to the criminal justice system.
The Louisiana Board of Parole meets with and interviews inmates who are eligible for parole. The board consists of seven members including a chairman; the governor appoints board members. Individuals who appear before a review board do not have the right to appeal decisions the board makes.
Louisiana residents cannot contact or write parole board members and urge them to grant an imprisoned individual parole. Those found guilty of doing so will face fines of up to $500 and six months in jail.
A review board must consider an inmate's social and criminal history, conduct, attitude, participation in vocational training, literacy and other adult education programs. Advance notice of the hearing is required for Individuals, or their surviving spouse or next of kin, who are victims of the crime involved.
Conditions of Parole
Parolees and people on probation must report to the Division of Probation and Parole Office, Department of Public Safety and Corrections within 48 hours of their release from a correctional facility. They must remain in Louisiana.
Between the first and fifth day of each month, parolees must report to their assigned parole agent. They cannot possess firearms or associate with people who have a felony conviction or people engaged in criminal behavior or activities.
Community Service and Training
Parolees who are employed must perform 100 hours of unpaid community service; unemployed parolees will perform more after their their parole agent sets the amount. Parolees who cannot read English must register for a program to learn how to read English at their own expense.
Violating Probation or Parole
Louisiana’s Fugitive Warrant department enters data on violators of the state’s parole and probation rules into the National Crime Information Center (NCIC) database. Violators who leave the state are returned to Louisiana for a court hearing on revocation of their parole or probation. If someone on parole or probation commits a felony, parole or probation is revoked automatically. Length of the violator’s sentence depends on the type of felony.
Read More: What Is the Difference Between Parole And Probation?
Rhonda Campbell is an entrepreneur, radio host and author. She has more than 17 years of business, human resources and project management experience and decades of book, newspaper, magazine, radio and business writing experience. Her works have appeared in leading periodicals like "Madame Noire," "Halogen TV," "The Network Journal," "Essence," "Your Church Magazine," "The Trenton Times," "Pittsburgh Quarterly" and "New Citizens Press."