To carry a concealed weapon in Georgia, you must apply for a permit, called a Georgia Weapons Carry License. This requires completing an application detailing basic information on your identity, paying the required fees and passing a background check. If approved, you will get a license. Gun license renewal in GA must be done every for five years. These licenses cannot be used everywhere in America, but they will be recognized in nearly 30 other states, including Florida, Colorado and Utah.
Over 21 (Or in the Military)
To get your Georgia concealed carry permit, the first step is to visit your county probate court and submit a Weapons Carry License application. You must be at least 21 years old, 18 if you are a member of the armed forces. If you are a service member, you must provide proof that you have completed basic training and are currently enlisted or have been honorably discharged.
Proof of County Residency Required
You must be a resident of the county where you apply, typically for at least three months. To prove residency, provide a Georgia driver's license or identification card showing your local address. If your license doesn't reflect a local address, other acceptable forms of proof include a residential lease, utility bill or military orders showing that you are stationed within the county. For example, to get a Clayton County concealed weapons permit, you can bring a copy of your lease paperwork, but if it is only dated from the last week, you may need a copy of your utility bill from a previous Clayton County address to show you have lived in the area for at least three months.
If you're not an American citizen, you must present proof of your U.S. legal residency, such as with a legal permanent resident card, also known as a green card, or Alien Registration Card. You must also pay an application fee, with the average fee being $75, but it can vary by county.
Fingerprints Taken for Background Check
After your application is submitted, the probate court will give you a Law Enforcement Affidavit. Typically, you'll take this form to the local police department or another designated office such as the Marshal's Department or Permits Unit, have your fingerprints taken and pay a fee. This must be done within five days of submitting your application. Your fingerprints are used to conduct a background check, which is typically concluded within 30 days. If you provide the probate court with a self-addressed stamped envelope, your license is mailed to you once approved; if not, the probate court contacts you when it's ready for pick up. If you're not approved for a license based on the background check, the probate court either sends you a letter asking for more information or will explain why you were disqualified.
Georgia Weapons Carry License Exclusions
Certain individuals are prohibited from obtaining a concealed carry permit under state law. This includes fugitives, persons convicted of unlawfully manufacturing or distributing a controlled substance, and convicted felons. If you were in a drug treatment center or mental hospital within the past five years, the probate court will request a recommendation from the superintendent of the facility before making its decision.
Read More: How to Get a Liquor License in Georgia
Based on the West Coast, Mary Jane Freeman has been writing professionally since 1994, specializing in the topics of business and law. Freeman's work has appeared in a variety of publications, including LegalZoom, Essence, Reuters and Chicago Sun-Times. Freeman holds a Master of Science in public policy and management and Juris Doctor. Freeman is self-employed and works as a policy analyst and legal consultant.