Each state has provisions for a person who supplies labor or materials for a construction job to claim a lien against the improved property. A lien is a claim against property made in order to secure payment of a debt. Alabama law states that a primary contractor isn't required to give any notice before placing a lien on property.
Go to the office of the judge of probate in the county where the property is located to file your lien. Alabama law says that you will be required to take an oath in order to verify the statement of your lien.
Read More: How to Stop an Illegal Lien
Provide the owner or proprietor of the property with a notice of furnishing materials in order to be able to claim a lien on any unpaid balance you're owed. This kind of lien is called a full price lien. The owner can, in turn, use the same form to object to your claim of furnishing material. If the owner doesn't object, you are entitled to the full price of the materials you furnished.
File your construction lien within six months after the last work or material has been furnished for your project. Any journeymen contractors connected with the job have 30 days to file a lien, while all other parties have four months.
Provide a list of all materialmen, laborers and employees, and the amounts they're owed if the owner or proprietor demands it. Not doing this may mean you'll end up forfeiting your right to a lien.
Give written acknowledgment that your lien has been satisfied within 30 days of a written request that you provide this information. If you don't do this, you'll be held responsible for any damages that may result.
Alabama has another kind of lien called an unpaid balance lien, in which any worker who doesn't have a contractual relationship with the property owner can file this kind of lien.
- Jupiterimages/liquidlibrary/Getty Images