States set a minimum distances you must park away from stop signs to ensure that other drivers can see the sign and the cross traffic. Laws vary among the states. Some states, like Virginia, Utah and Minnesota, set the distance at 30 feet. However, Iowa sets the distance at only 10 feet, while the general rule in New Jersey is 50 feet.
The average car measures between 18- and 20-feet long. That means you need to leave over a car length and a half between the stop sign and the front of your car if you want to avoid a ticket in jurisdictions where the required distance is 30 feet. If you get a ticket, the fine varies by jurisdiction.
Mark Kennan is a writer based in the Kansas City area, specializing in personal finance and business topics. He has been writing since 2009 and has been published by "Quicken," "TurboTax," and "The Motley Fool."