How to Switch a Boat Title in Georgia

By Marcelle Greene Edins J.D.
Boats are not issued titles in Georgia, however all watercraft must be properly registered in the state.

boat image by pearlguy from Fotolia.com

The state of Georgia does not require boats to be titled. However, all boats and watercraft that are operated on public waterways in the state for more than 60 days must be properly registered with the Georgia Department of Natural Resources. If a boat was purchased from an owner or dealership in a boat titling state, a copy of the title must be filed with the Georgia boat registration application. Certain types of watercraft such as boats with no motorized propulsion and small sailboats, are exempt from the registration requirement.

Visit the website for the Georgia Department of Natural Resources and print out the down-loadable boat registration application. Initial registration of new and used boats may only be completed by regular mail as required documents must be sent with the application itself. However, renewal of a previous Georgia boat registration may be completed on-line.

Include copies of the purchase receipt and the manufacturer's statement of origin with the completed Georgia boat registration form for brand new boats. Georgia registration applications for used boats from other states must include a notarized or witnessed bill of sale and a copy of the boat title, if from a boat titling state, or registration card from the previous owner. Registration applications for boats sold within Georgia must also include a notarized or witnessed bill of sale and the previous owner's registration card.

Send the completed registration application along with any required documentation to:

GA Department of Natural Resources P.O. Box 934943 Atlanta GA 31193-4943

Pay all required registration fees by check or money order. Make checks payable to the "Georgia DNR". Registration fees range from $15.00 to $150.00 and are determined by the size of the boat to be registered in Georgia. A transaction fee also applies to all boat registration applications. An $8.00 fee is added to application processed over the Internet or by mail and a $10.00 application fee applies to applications processed by phone.

About the Author

Marcelle Greene Edins began writing in 1999 and has written for "Today's Builder" magazine and online for various websites. She is presently writing her first novel. She holds a bachelor's degree from the University of Texas at San Antonio and a J.D. from St. Mary's University School of Law.

Cite this Article A tool to create a citation to reference this article Cite this Article