The Oregon homestead exemption law protects the primary residence of homeowners from creditors if a lawsuit is filed against a homeowner for non-payment. Homestead exemptions do not apply to liens against homeowners being sued for non-payment of property taxes, child support and alimony. As of 2010, the Oregon Homestead Act protects single homeowners up to $75,000 and $125,000 for joint owners.
Visit the tax assessor’s office in the county where your property is located to obtain a Homestead Application form (see Resources).
Read More: What Happens If One Waives Homestead Rights in Illinois?
Provide all of the necessary information required on the application, such as your personal information, the address and a description of the property and the value of the property. If you co-own the home you must acquire the signature of the co-owner as well.
Mail or deliver your homestead application to your tax assessor’s office no later than May 1st. You will receive notification if your application is denied and if you are denied you will have the opportunity to appeal the denial.
You only need to file for homestead once. Your primary residence is protected until you sell the property or until it no longer is considered your primary residence.
Tiffany Raiford has several years of experience writing freelance. Her writing focuses primarily on articles relating to parenting, pregnancy and travel. Raiford is a graduate of Saint Petersburg College in Florida.