In some states, such as Minnesota or New Mexico, you must take a written driver's license test if you have been convicted of a driving while intoxicated (DWI) and have had your license suspended or revoked. Generally, you must be employed to qualify for this type of restricted license as you will be limited to driving to, and from, work.
The DWI written driver's test covers a variety of material, most of which relate to drinking and driving. A few of the topics include effects of alcohol on vision and reaction times, general alcohol impact on the body, options to driving, state laws and relevant penalties.
Even if you qualify to take a DWI written driver's test, there will still be a waiting period during which you will not be able to drive. This waiting period varies from state to state. As of October 2010, Minnesota offers a typical example of 15 to 30 days for a first offense and 90 to 180 days for a second or third offense.
The process varies depending on the state. As of October 2010, the process in Minnesota was typical of those in other states: Retake the written test. Pay the $680 reinstatement fee in addition to an $18.50 application fee. Show proof that you cannot take the bus or alternative transportation to work. Meet with a Department of Public Safety administrator after passing your test. She will approve or deny your request.
- taking test image by Petro Feketa from Fotolia.com