Despite the dissatisfaction of some individuals and youths, there are certain curfew laws in effect in the state of Kansas. These laws are usually in place in an effort to reduce crime and vandalism rates and to protect youths wandering streets after dark. Specific curfew laws and age restrictions vary according to city and location in Kansas, though laws tend to be similar, as do penalties for violations.
Curfews have similar restrictions in cities and towns across Kansas. Typically, youths may not be outside during certain hours without the immediate supervision of an adult. This includes “loitering, wandering, strolling or playing in or on the public streets, highways, roads, alleys, parks, playground(s), public buildings, eating places or vacant lots,” according to a Kansas City News 5 article.
Curfew Hour and Age Restrictions
There is no statewide curfew law in Kansas, but most jurisdictions and cities have imposed their own curfew laws. They are usually very similar, but certain age restrictions and hours may vary slightly. One common example of curfew laws includes those of the city of Wichita. Here a curfew applies for those who are 15 years of age and younger from 11 p.m. and 6 a.m. on Sunday-Thursday, and from midnight to 6 a.m. on Friday and Saturday. Those who are 16 or 17 have a similar curfew from midnight to 6 a.m. Sunday-Thursday, and 1 a.m. to 6 a.m. on Friday and Saturday. Some jurisdictions make no distinction among different age groups, as in Kansas City, where any youth under 18 must abide by similar curfew laws for those 15 and under in Wichita. Youths in Kansas should check with local government websites for specific curfew restrictions.
If juveniles are caught in violation of curfew law, it is often parents who are subject to penalties and punishments, particularly for youths under the age of 16. Again, specific violations vary according to jurisdiction, but may include fines of up to $500 for continued offenses. If the juvenile is over 16, then there is sometimes a mandatory court appearance, and fines may be charged directly to the juvenile.
Brianna has been writing professionally since 2009. She has a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree and is excited to be part of a community that contributes to the free sharing of information and ideas.