Laws on Carrying Tasers

A Taser is a self-defense device that immobilizes a person by disrupting muscular control with an electrical shock. They are legal in most states, but the legalities can vary depending upon where you reside.

States Where Tasers Are Illegal

Tasers are illegal for private citizens to carry in seven states: Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island and Wisconsin. They are also illegal in the District of Columbia.

Cities/Counties Where Tasers Are Illegal

If there are no restrictions on a state level, there might be at a county or city level. Cities that ban Tasers include New York, Philadelphia, Chicago, Baltimore and Annapolis, Md. Counties include Howard and Baltimore counties in Maryland; and Dension and Crawford counties in Iowa.

States With Restrictions

Tasers are legal in some states, but with restrictions. Usually it is based on age or permit restrictions. Restricted states include Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Florida, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio and Washington.

Internet Purchase of Tasers

Depending on the retailer, they might not mail you a Taser based on the law of your state. But ultimate responsibility is on the consumer to make sure they are not breaking their state's law when ordering a Taser online.

International Taser Law

Citizens in the following countries cannot carry a Taser: Australia, Belgium, Denmark, India, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. They are also illegal in Hong Kong.

Related Articles