Florida's population is booming. Between July 2016 and July 2017, over 325,000 people moved into the state, second only to Texas in growth. If you're one of these recent residents, you're going to have to get a Florida driver's license. Like any other state, Florida has a list of requirements you have to meet before being legally allowed to drive on public roads.
What is the Test for a Florida Driver's License?
If you already have a valid driver's license from another U.S. state, U.S. territory or another country, any testing may be waived at the discretion of the Division of Driver's Licenses. If you don't have a license from elsewhere, you'll need to take the DMV Driver's License tests. There is both a written exam and a driving test.
The written exam includes 50 multiple choice questions about local traffic rules and road signs. Each question is based on information from the Florida Driver Handbook, which can be found online. The DMV suggests you study the handbook before applying for a license. If you fail the test, you'll pay a $10 fee to retake it.
After you've passed the written test, you'll need to take the driving test, using your own vehicle. Before beginning the test, you must show valid proof of insurance and registration, and pass a vehicle inspection. Once your vehicle passes, you'll be tested on a number of driving skills, including:
- Passing a vehicle on the road
- 3-point turn
- Backing up
- Giving the right-of-way
If you fail the driving test, you'll need to retake it another day and pay a $20 retesting fee.
Read More: Florida Drivers License Number Format
How Much Does it Cost to Get a Florida Driver's License?
The initial fee for taking both tests the first time and getting a valid license is $48 for a basic Class E (non-commercial) driver's license. The amount will go up if you fail either of the required tests, by $10 for the written test and $20 for the practical test.
How to Get a Florida Driver's License Suspended
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles can suspend your license for a number of reasons, including:
- Failure to pay a traffic fine
- Failure to insure your motor vehicle
- Collecting too many traffic violation points
- Driving under the influence
- Failing to pay required child support
- Failing to pass a vision test
- Inability to drive a motor vehicle in a safe manner
- Traffic violation that results in death or serious injury
Each suspension is for a different amount of time, based on how severe your violation was.
In order to get a Florida driver's license, you must take a written test, pass a driver's test and pay a fee of $48.
- Miami Agent Magazine: Florida’s Population Growth in 2017 Was Second Largest in U.S.
- DMV.org: Applying for a New License (Drivers 18+) in Florida
- Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles: Fees
- Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles: How do I notify DHSMV of my auto insurance? And what levels do I have to carry?
- DMV.org: Suspended License in Florida
Victoria Bailey has a degree in Public Law and Government. She has spoken before state Supreme Court justices and her photograph is on the back cover of Bill Clinton's autobiography. As a former member of the Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress, Bailey worked closely with lawmakers to help set public policy. Bailey's work appears on numerous websites, and she's currently writing the text for a governmental information app.