How Much is Minimum Wage in California

••• Tg-pint/iStock/GettyImages

Related Articles

Bringing Home More Bacon in California

California doesn’t have one single minimum wage. The federal government sets one minimum wage that applies to employed Californians, but the state of California sets another. To complicate matters even more, different localities can also set a minimum wage for employees within their boundaries, and these often differ from the wage set by the state. All this may seem intimidating and complex, but the rule for applying these minimum wages is simple: The employer must pay whichever minimum wage provides the most benefit to the employee.

What Is the Federal Minimum Wage in 2017?

In 2017, the federal minimum wage was $7.25 an hour. This sets the very lowest floor for employee wages. It applies to all employees in all states who are not exempt, but if a state or city sets a higher minimum wage, the higher one applies. Since the state sets a higher minimum wage, the federal minimum wage is not used in California.

What Is the Minimum Wage Right Now in California?

The California legislature sets the state minimum wage in California. It sets one minimum wage for companies with 25 employees or fewer and another for companies with more than 25 employees. As of late 2017, the state minimum wage is $10 per hour for employers with 25 employees or less and $10.50 per hour for employers with 25 employees or more.

This minimum wage is higher than the federal minimum wage, so it sets a higher floor for what an employee can be paid in California. But localities can and do set their own minimum wages for employees within their boundaries. These are, without exception, higher than federal or state minimum wages. Right now, for example, all employers in San Francisco must pay employees a minimum of $14 an hour, and that wage rises to $15 in 2018.

How Much Is Minimum Wage in California per Month?

The minimum wage set by the California legislature is an hourly rate. Minimum wage in California, per month, calculated using the state hourly minimum wage of $10 (for employers with no more than 25 employees) multiplied by 160 hours is $1,600. Some months will have more working days and include more hours. Using the state hourly minimum wage of $10.50 (for employers with more than 25 employees), the monthly earnings are $1,680 for 160 hours.

How Much Is Minimum Wage in California per Year?

The minimum wage set by the California legislature is an hourly rate. Minimum wage in California at $10 per hour is $400 per week. If the employee works 52 weeks per year, she will earn $20,800. Using the state hourly minimum wage of $10.50 (for employers with more than 25 employees), the earnings per week are $420; for 52 weeks, they are $21,840.

How Much Is Minimum Wage in California After Taxes?

Minimum wage in California after taxes depends on how much in tax is paid. This will depend on your spouse's earnings as well as the number of children you have and the type of deductions you qualify for on your taxes.

How Much Is Minimum Wage in California 2018?

The minimum wage in California rises in 2018 by $.50 per hour. Employers having no more than 25 employees will pay at least $10.50 an hour, while those having more than 25 employees must pay at least $11 an hour.

How Much Is the Minimum Wage in Los Angeles?

Employers in Los Angeles with 25 or fewer employees must pay $10.50 an hour. Those with more than 25 employees must pay $12 an hour. As of 2018, those with 25 or fewer employees must pay $12.00 an hour, while those with more employees must pay $13.25 per hour.

What Is the Lowest Minimum Wage?

The lowest minimum wage a person can earn in California is that set by the state. Currently, it is $10 or $10.50 per hour. It applies in every jurisdiction that does not set a higher local minimum wage.