If you want to become a licensed barber in California, there are certain educational, financial and age requirements that you must meet. Here's how to obtain a barber's license in the state of California.
Complete a 1,500-hour barbering course at an approved institution. The approval must come from the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology, or CSBBC (see Resources below) .
You must also pass the barber licensing exam which consists of two parts: a practical portion and a written portion. The exam and license cost varies, but is around $50. You must be 17 years old or older and have complete the tenth grade in a public or private school or its equivalent.
According to the CSBBC, you can renew your license on their website if you have a valid license that expires within the next 83 days or have a license that is delinquent by no more than 2 years and you have no outstanding fines or disciplinary actions. A license renewal costs $50 unless you’re late with your renewal, which would cost $75. A duplicate license costs only $10.
Contact the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology directly, at 400 R Street, Suite 5100, Sacramento, CA 95814, or call (916) 323-9020. You can also fax them at (916) 445-8893. For specific licensing information, call (916) 445-0916.