If you buy a vehicle in Texas with credit, you must make your loan payments on time or face vehicle repossession. The Texas Financial Code regulates the process. The person repossessing the vehicle must file paperwork with the county where the person lives. He can repossess the vehicle at any time as long as it is done peacefully. The car owner has 31 days to pay their bill to get their vehicle back.
The collection agency must give the vehicle owner notice that they intend to repossess the vehicle by filing a form at the county clerk's office. Repossession normally occurs when a debtor defaults on car payments, but it is also allowed if a debtor breaks any other terms of the lending agreement.
During the repossession of the vehicle, the collection agent is not allowed to break in to a building or break any other laws while apprehending it.
Texas laws allows companies that repossess vehicles to charge the debtor with the costs incurred for repossessing the car. Not only does the unpaid debt stick with the debtor, the cost for the collection agent's time and effort also will be charged to the debtor.
After a vehicle is repossessed, the debtor must be notified by mail within 15 days of her legal options. This letter is required to tell the debtor how to get the vehicle back and where and when to do this. Most debt collection agencies will require the debtor to pay past due balances at this time. The debtor has 31 days to reclaim the property before it is sold.