Table of Contents:
Ohio employers must obey federal labor laws, which are enforced by the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL). However, federal law does not address time elapsed between shifts, leaving it in the hands of employers. The DOL also leaves the issue of break-times during a shift up to employers, stating that no employer is obligated to provide time for meal, smoking, or other breaks in most circumstances. However, if an employer does provide short breaks of five to 20 minutes, he must pay employees during this time. He does not have to pay employees for longer meal breaks of 30 minutes or more.
Ohio state law also favors employers when it comes to time elapsed between shifts, offering no statutes that deal directly with the issue for most employees. And, although some states have gone beyond federal law and require employers to provide meal breaks, Ohio also does not legally require these breaks. However, because most employees are at-will workers, they may quit a job at any time if conditions do not seem fair. But state law does regulate time between shifts and break periods for minors.
Ohio law protects minors from working multiple shifts without an adequate break. According to state law, minors may only work up to three hours on school days and up to eight hours on others. Thus, because a regular working shift typically lasts from six to eight hours, it is legally impossible for employers to demand multiple shifts in one day, virtually guaranteeing a significant break between working shifts. Minors are also guaranteed a 30-minute meal break for every five hours worked by Ohio's labor laws.
Nevada employers must pay overtime compensation at time and one-half if their employees work more than 40 hours per week or more than eight hours daily. Nevada's overtime law is more stringent than the federal overtime law. The United States Department of Labor administers federal overtime regulations according to the Fair Labor Standards Act. Under the act, employers must compensate nonexempt employees for overtime work at time and one-half if they work more than 40 hours weekly.
Under Nevada law, employees who work in the service sector or retail industry are exempt from overtime regulations if their hourly wage exceeds the state's minimum wage by more than 1.5 times. The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, but the state's minimum wage is $1 more at $8.25 per hour. Employers who do not provide health insurance must pay their employees at least $8.25 per hour. If they provide insurance coverage, then they can pay their employees the federal minimum wage. Additionally, employers in Nevada cannot apply an employee's tips toward the minimum wage obligations.
The Nevada Administrative Code, Chapter 608.115, requires employers to pay employees for all time worked. This requirement applies to hours that an employee works outside of his scheduled hours. Under the statutory code, an employer who pays its employee a salary must pay him a pro-rata share of his salary based on the amount of time he worked outside of his scheduled shift.
Training and Travel
Under Nevada law, an employer must pay its employees for travel and training time if the travel is not directly related to an employee's commute to work. This requirement applies to employees who use their employers' transportation or their own transportation.
Since state laws can frequently change, do not use this information as a substitute for legal advice. Seek advice through an attorney licensed to practice law in your state.