Table of Contents:
- How to Get a Photo ID in Georgia
- How to Get a California State ID Card
- How to Get a Maryland State Photo ID Card
- How to Get a Picture ID in Texas
- How to Get a State Identification Card in New Jersey
Gather the documents and information required by DDS in order to apply for a Georgia photo ID card.
You will need to present proof that you are a Georgia resident--some acceptable documents showing your residency include a recent utility bill, recent bank statement, health insurance bill, paycheck or pay stub from your employer or recent school transcript/academic records. Applicants must also present identification showing their name and birth date; examples of approved documents include an original or certified copy of a birth certificate, a current passport and official immigration papers. Lastly, you are required to prove your U.S. citizenship or legal status by providing a U.S. birth certificate, U.S. passport, alien card or certificate of citizenship or naturalization. Refer to Resources for a complete list of acceptable identification and documentation.
If applicable, you will need to bring your old driver's license, ID card or permit to the DDS agent when applying for the new ID card. Also, be prepared to give your Social Security number when applying (the actual Social Security card is not required).
Locate the closest driver's license customer service center to you by using the office locator listed under Resources. The locator provides information about each center's hours of operation, address, phone number, accepted payment methods and the services offered.
Bring all documents, identification and information along with the $20 or $35 application fee ($20 for an ID card valid for five years; $35 for an ID card valid for 10 years) to your local customer service center. Along with submitting paperwork and the fee, you will be required to have your picture taken at the center to complete the application process.
Contact your local DMV office to make an appointment. (See Resources) You may apply for an identification card as a walk in, but the DMV advises applicants to make an appointment to avoid long waits.
Complete the Driver License or Identification Card Application DL 44. According to the DMV, the application is not provided via the Internet due to requirement of an original signature and a bar code that must be entered by a DMV employee. You may get an application by contacting the DMV automated line which operates 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Provide a thumbprint and take a photograph for the identification card.
Supply your Social Security number. All applicants must supply a Social Security number. Applicants ineligible for a Social Security number, but legally in the United States are the exception to the rule. Applicants fitting these criteria must supply valid proof of birth and legal residency. You do not need to provide your Social Security number if applying for a renewal identification card.
Provide verification of your birth date and citizenship. Acceptable documents include a birth certificate, passport or permanent resident card.
Pay the identification card application fee. As of January 2011, the fee for an original, renewal or duplicate identification card is $26. A reduced-fee identification card cost $7, and there is no fee for a senior citizen identification card as of January 2011.
Wait 60 days for your identification card to arrive in the mail. If you have not received your identification card within the 60-day time frame, contact the California DMV.
Gather the documents needed to verify your identity, age and social security number. Your original birth certificate, or a certified copy, is the primary document; if you do not have one, a valid U.S. Passport or a Consular Report of Birth Abroad (for applicants born outside the U.S.) is acceptable. Your social security card (not a copy) is also required, but a W2 form (less than 18 months old) or a pay stub from the last three months is acceptable.
Gather the documents required to prove your Maryland residency. Any document used must include your name and Maryland address, including a vehicle registration, utility bill or checking or savings account statement.
Bring the documents to the MVA within your district, along with the required fee, which is subject to change--contact the MVA office ahead of time to inquire about current fees. At the MVA< you will fill out a form and present it along with your documents to an MVA representative.
Find a local Texas drivers license office to apply for an identification card. Visit the Texas Department of Public Safety website (See Reference) to find the nearest office. Click "Tx Driver License" on the left side of the page. Locate and click "Driver License Office Locations" at the bottom of the page. Search by city or county to find a local office.
Go to your local Texas drivers license office to apply in person.
Verify your identity by presenting the required documentation. Additional documentation may be required. Request a list of the required documents.
Complete the application that will be given to you by the agent. You must consent to being fingerprinted and photographed, and you must also provide a signature at the time of application.
Pay the required fee with a money order, cash or a non-temporary check only.
Gather and prepare documents to submit for New Jersey's 6 Point ID Verification program.The 6 Point ID Verification is an identification process designed to prevent identity theft. It requires those applying for a New Jersey identification card to provide a combination of two or more original or certified copies of identifying documents. Appropriate documents include a U.S. birth certificate, passport or active military photo ID. In addition you must provide your social security number and proof of your address. The 6 Point ID Verification Program link in the Resource section provides a list of additional qualifying documents.
Locate the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission office nearest to you. If needed, use the "Locations" link in the Resources section to find the nearest office. Visit the selected Motor Vehicle Commission office. Obtain the non-driver ID application or BA-207 form. Complete the front side of the form using accurate and complete information.
Submit the form and your 6 Point Verification documents at the Motor Vehicle Commission. Submit the items in person; New Jersey does not accept applications by mail or fax. Pay the required fee using cash, check, money order or a major credit card. As of November 2010, the fee for an identification card is $24.