Table of Contents:
- How to Get a Permit to Carry a Concealed Weapon in Virginia
- How to Get a Concealed Weapon Permit in Florida
- How to Get a Permit to Carry a Concealed Weapon in Maryland
- How to Get a Permit to Carry a Concealed Weapon in Georgia
- How to Get a Permit to Carry a Concealed Weapon in Texas
- How to Get a Permit to Carry a Concealed Weapon in South Carolina
- How to Get a Permit to Carry a Concealed Weapon in North Carolina
- How to Get a Permit to Carry a Concealed Weapon in Mississippi
- How to Get a Permit to Carry a Concealed Weapon in Indiana
- How to Get a Permit to Carry a Concealed Weapon in Colorado
- How to Get a Permit to Carry a Concealed Weapon in Massachusetts
- How to Get a Permit to Carry a Concealed Weapon in Alabama
- How to Get a Permit to Carry a Concealed Weapon in Michigan
Be 21 years old and pass a firearms training class approved by the circuit court. It may be National Rifle Association, military, security guard or police training, but check with your circuit court for details.
Obtain an application from your local circuit court. Submit the completed application, training certificate, photo identification such as a driver's license or DD-214 if you have prior military experience, and a self-addressed stamped envelope. Some jurisdictions require fingerprints for residents.
Provide fingerprints if you are a non-resident. The permit fee differs for residents and non-residents.
Receive the permit or be denied in 45 days. If your permit has not been processed within 45 days, the court clerk must issue you a temporary permit good for 90 days or until the permanent one is ready.
Renew your permit every five years. Residents do not need to provide their fingerprints, but non-residents do. You are not required to inform a law enforcement officer that you are carrying a concealed weapon.
Refrain from carrying a concealed weapon to bars, churches, school property or any building with a sign banning firearms.
Fill out the online questionnaire (see References) to determine if you qualify for a Florida Concealed Weapon Permit. The questionnaire asks 30 questions mostly concerned with previous criminal or legal troubles.
Complete a firearms training course recognized by the state of Florida. Make sure to obtain documentation of satisfactory completion of the course, including issuer, date and name of instructor.
Get your fingerprints scanned electronically, either at a local sheriff's office or at a third-party scanner (see References). If your nearest sheriff's office does not have a scanner, someone there can direct you to the nearest office that does. You must keep your receipt because it will contain information requested by the Concealed Weapons Permit application.
Download and complete the Concealed Weapon Or Firearm License Application (see References). To complete the application you will need to supply a color photograph and documentation of your electronic fingerprints and firearm training. You will also be asked to supply documentation about any past criminal, legal or medical issues you might have. The application is accompanied by detailed instructions to help you provide the right documents and information.
Have your photo taken. All applicants must submit two 1 1/2 by 1 1/2-inch passport-type photographs. These are taken on a white background with full face and shoulders in view but no hats or dark glasses. Photographs must have been taken within 30 days prior to submitting your application.
Get fingerprinted. You will be required to submit a set of fingerprint cards which include one orange and white CJIS-011 card and one blue and white FBI applicant card bearing the code "ORI-MDMSP6000." These can be obtained at your local Maryland State Police barracks.
Ensure that you have three references from reputable citizens. These people should have known you for at least two years but are not related to you.
Provide evidence of recent threats and/or assaults. This information is mandatory for personal use permits and must be supported by police reports and/or notarized statements.
Submit your application and payment. Double-check to make sure you have filled this out correctly and included all of your supporting documentation. By doing this, you can help to significantly decrease the amount of time it takes to investigate your application.
Wait approximately 90 days. At the end of that time, you should receive either your rejection notice or your permit to carry a concealed weapon.
Must Be 21 Unless Servicemember
To get your Georgia concealed carry permit, the first step is to visit your county probate court and submit a Weapons Carry License application. You must be at least 21 years old, 18 if you are a member of the armed forces. If you are a servicemember, you must provide proof that you have completed basic training and are currently enlisted or have been honorably discharged.
Proof of County Residency Required
You must be a resident of the county where you apply, typically for at least three months. To prove residency, provide a Georgia driver's license or identification card showing your local address. If your license doesn't reflect a local address, other acceptable forms of proof include a residential lease, utility bill or military orders showing that you are stationed within the county. If you're not an American citizen, you must present proof of your U.S. legal residency, such as with a legal permanent resident card, also known as a green card, or Alien Registration Card. You must also pay an application fee, with the average fee being $75, but it can vary by county.
Fingerprints Taken for Background Check
After your application is submitted, the probate court will give you a Law Enforcement Affidavit. Typically, you'll take this form to the local police department or another designated office such as the Marshal's Department or Permits Unit, have your fingerprints taken and pay a fee. This must be done within five days of submitting your application. Your fingerprints are used to conduct a background check, which is typically concluded within 30 days. If you provide the probate court with a self-addressed stamped envelope, your license is mailed to you once approved; if not, the probate court contacts you when it's ready for pick up. If you're not approved for a license based on the background check, the probate court either sends you a letter asking for more information or will explain why you were disqualified.
Certain Groups Excluded From Gun License
Certain individuals are prohibited from obtaining a concealed carry permit under state law. This includes fugitives, persons convicted of unlawfully manufacturing or distributing a controlled substance, and convicted felons. If you were in a drug treatment center or mental hospital within the past five years, the probate court will request a recommendation from the superintendent of the facility before making its decision.
Collect proof of at least six month residency of the State of Texas. Utility bills, an apartment lease or mortage contract can be used to provide proof. To get a Texas permit to carry a concealed weapon you must be a resident of the state. However, Texas does recognize most other states licenses and permits, although reciprocity is not always the case.
Find your social security card, and Texas Driver's License, or Identification Card. You will need these to prove citizenship, age and identity. Applicants must be citizens of the United States and must be at least twenty one years old, except military applicants that are over eighteen years old.
Do not apply for a weapons permit if you have chosen deferred adjudication to a violent crime in the last ten years. Also if you have been convicted of a DUI, you cannot obtain a permit, since DUIs are a class B felony and felons are not permitted to carry weapons.
Attend and pass the mandatory class for gun safety and use that is taught by a certified instructor. Classes are usually ten to fifteen hours long and include the cost of your application. This class is a must for all who wish to carry a concealed weapon. A part of this class is shooting practice at the firing range, and some instructors require that you bring your own gun to the range.
Fill out the application online via the Internet, in the guns owner class, or pick up the application at the closest Texas DPS office.
Wait for sixty days to receive either your rejection notice or your permit to carry a concealed weapon. It usually doesn't take the full sixty days but the Department of Public Safety must send off your application to several agencies and hear back from each before they are able to provide a permit.
Be alert for signs in public that ban firearms on their property. Many schools and private properties display signs that hand guns are not allowed whether you have a permit or not. If you are caught and convicted of carrying a hand gun onto one of these places, your license will be revoked.
Take a concealed weapon training class approved by the state. There are a number of places you can take such courses.
Fill out the concealed carry license application completely. To get the application write to the following address: SLED Regulatory Department P.O. Box 21398 Columbia, S.C. 29221.
Include with your application a full-face photograph, proof of having taken the training course, fingerprints, a driver's license or proof of having passed a vision test with an actual or corrected score of 20/40 or better and proof of residency or ownership of property in South Carolina.
Pay the $50 fee.
Wait for the results of your background check. This may take some time. If your concealed carry application is denied by the state of South Carolina, they will give you a written explanation. You can then appeal the denial.
Remember, the process to get a license to carry a concealed gun can take up to 90 days.
Do not carry a concealed gun even with a permit into churches, medical establishments, schools, government functions and government buildings. For more information, check with South Carolina legislation's homepage. (See Resources below.)
Renew your permit within four years of getting it.
Locate a concealed carry course. You will need to have proof of completion of a concealed carry course in the state of North Carolina in order to apply for a permit. Contact local shooting ranges or the NC Department of Justice for certified instructors and class availability.
Apply in person at the Sheriff's office. Applications for concealed carry permits and pistol purchase permits are available at your county's Sheriff's permit office. Bring your concealed carry class certificate and NC driver's license to the permit office.
Swear under oath in the presence of witnesses that the information provided on your application is accurate. Sign the medical records waver and allow your fingerprints to be taken.
Pay the non-refundable license fee and the fee for fingerprinting.
Return to the Sheriff's permit office to pick up your concealed carry permit. The permit office has 90 days to review your application. You will receive a phone call when your application is accepted. If your application is turned down, you will receive a written explanation by mail.
Renew your concealed carry permit every five years.
Be at least 21 years of age and live in Mississippi for the past year. This may be waived if you are on active duty in the military or already have a CCW permit from another state.
Obtain an application from a highway patrol substation. Your application package must consist of the following: completed application; passport photograph; non-refundable fee (retired law enforcement officials are exempt); a set of fingerprints; and a waiver authorizing the Department of Public Safety to search your criminal and mental health history.
Submit your application package to the following address: Mississippi State Police, P. O. Box 958, Jackson, MS 39205-0958; email: email@example.com; or call (601) 987-1212.
Receive your permit within 120 days, unless it is denied. Renew the permit every four years by paying the renewal fee. You must carry your CCW permit and a valid identification when you carry a concealed firearm. You must also present these documents upon demand by a law enforcement officer.
Keep your concealed firearm out of the following areas unless specifically authorized: law enforcement facilities, courthouses, polling places, public parks, bars, airport terminals, churches or anywhere else that posts a sign banning firearms.
Receive a CCW permit from any other state. You must be a resident of Indiana or a non-resident employed in Indiana to apply for an Indiana CCW permit.
Fill out a one-page application with the police department or county sheriff's office and provide photo identification and your fingerprints.
Pay the applicable fees. In addition to the permit fee--and there are two types of permits, a four-year and a lifetime permit--fingerprinting also comes with a fee. If the application is denied, a portion of the fees will be refunded. The fingerprints will be forwarded to the Indiana State Police, so some issuing authorities may charge you postage or a notary fee.
Receive your permit in six to eight weeks. You do not need to inform the police you are carrying a concealed weapon, but you must present your permit upon demand and you should also carry your driver's license or photo ID.
Know that your permit will not allow you to carry a weapon on school property (public or private), the controlled areas of an airport, a riverboat casino, state fair or shipping port. You may, however, carry a firearm when transporting someone to or from school or to a school function.
Take a training course in firearms. Your county sheriff's department can provide you a list of qualifying courses.
Fill out the application form from your county sheriff's department but do not sign it. You can download it and an information packet at www.co.boulder.co.us. Take it back to the county sheriff's department and sign it before the sheriff.
Submit the permit fee and fingerprint fee. The permit fee is determined by the sheriff. The fingerprint fee is determined by the FBI. Neither fee is refundable if your permit application is denied.
Provide your training certificate and a photograph. The sheriff's department may take your photograph when you submit your application.
Show a valid Colorado driver's license or military ID and have two complete sets of your fingerprints taken. You will also need to pass a criminal background check. Your permit will be good for five years. A renewal fee is charged after that period.
Receive a temporary emergency permit if your life is in immediate danger. An emergency permit is good for 90 days. Applicants are responsible for the permit fee and the fingerprint fee.
Apply for the Class A license. The Class B license in Massachusetts does not allow you to carry concealed handguns. You will be required to justify your request in writing. Make your request as detailed and specific as possible. Valid reasons for requesting a concealed handgun include personal threats, being in a high-risk profession or routinely carrying large amounts of cash.
Take an approved training course given by the NRA or a Massachusetts state certified instructor.
Obtain an application from your issuing authority. This is your police chief or state police if you are a resident. If you are not a resident, you will need to contact the Firearms Record Bureau at (617) 660-4780.
Submit the following documents to your issuing authority if you are a resident: the completed application; a copy of your driver's license or ID card; a copy of your birth certificate or passport; two fingerprint cards; two passport photographs; the license fee; proof of residency (may be a utility or cable bill); a training course certificate taken within the last year and a statement justifying your need for a handgun license.
Send in the following documents to the Firearms Record Bureau if you are a non-resident: the completed application; one fingerprint card; one blank license; the license fee; two passport photographs; letter from the police chief (not needed if you have a CCW permit in your home state); a copy of both sides of your home CCW permit (if available); a training course certificate taken within the last year and a report from your home state Bureau of Criminal Records listing your arrest record.
Receive your license within 40 days. If it is denied, you have 90 days to petition the district court for a review. Permits for residents are good for four years and a non-resident permit lasts for one year.
Be at least 18 years old and a resident of Alabama. The county sheriff can set the minimum age limit higher.
Fill out a CCW application at your county Sheriff's Office. If granted, the permit is good for up to one year from the date of issue. Alabama law states that the applicant must have a good reason for carrying a concealed firearm, but in practice a permit is generally granted to anyone who qualifies. Alabama counties are not required to run a background check although most do, so Alabama's CCW permit cannot serve as a National Instant Criminal System (NICS) check.
Provide photo identification and other documents required by your county. Some counties require training while others do not. The fee for a carry and conceal permit varies depending on the county.
Look at the Alabama attorney general's opinion at www.ago.state.al.us arguing that city and county governments can not prohibit city or county workers from carrying concealed firearms on the job. Only law enforcement officials may carry a pistol into a public school or within 1,000 feet of a demonstration.
Present the CCW permit to a law enforcement officer upon demand.
Pass initial legal requirements. A CCW applicant must be at least 21 years of age and a legal resident of Michigan for over 6 months. Additionally, the applicant cannot have a felony criminal record or convictions for certain misdemeanors. For a comprehensive list of legal requirements, visit http://michigan.gov/.
Attend and pass a Pistol Safety Training course that meets Michigan's state requirements. If you pass the training course, obtain a completion certificate. The certificate does not expire but is a factor for consideration during the application process.
Obtain a CCW permit application kit. Application kits are free, and provided by law enforcement agencies and County Clerk's offices. You can also download the application from http://michigan.gov/.
Complete the application thoroughly. File it with the County Clerk's office in your home county. Bring a clear facial photograph of yourself, suitable for a passport, and the completion certificate from the Pistol Safety Training course. You must pay a filing fee. Obtain a paid filing fee receipt for the application.
Take the paid receipt to your local Sheriff's office. Have someone fingerprint you for a concealed weapon application. Some counties charge a small service fee. The Sheriff's office forwards your fingerprints to the Michigan State Police.
Wait for final processing. The Michigan State Police conducts the criminal check and forwards its findings to the local county gun board. Upon receipt of this report, the gun board has 45 days to approve or deny your application for a CCW license.