Table of Contents:
- How to Get a Liquor License in Michigan
- How to Get a Liquor License in Oklahoma
- How to Get a Liquor License in California
- How to Get a Liquor License in Georgia
How to Get a Liquor License in Michigan
Determine the type of license you would like to apply for. First-time applicants who own a business will likely be applying for an on-premises or off-premises license. Some special licenses may be issued for hospital or military installations for purchase of liquor from a state store at a discount. Vendors and salespeople would apply for another type of license. Vendors must obtain a license for each vendor they represent.
Download the appropriate licensing application forms online. They're available in PDF format and are printable. All types of permit and license application are available including on-premises allowance to award high value prizes, special license application and informative documents to help you in the process. The licensing division of MLCC is in their Lansing offices. They can be reached toll-free at 1-866-813-0011.
Expect to pay $250 for the Retail Liquor Dealer Tax Stamp. It must be renewed annually or penalties will be issued. Any business selling alcohol is required to have it. Contact the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau at 1-800-937-8864.
Fill out the Application for Application for New Licenses, or Application of Buyers for Transfer of Ownership or Interest in License. It is available in PDF format online. You can fill it out on your PC and email or print and mail. It's only two pages, but you will need to know the lingo, so be sure to download supporting documents to help decipher what you need to fill out.
Check that you meet all the requirements for obtaining a liquor license. For example, you must not have ever been convicted of a felony or any crime involving the excessive use of alcohol.
Contact the alcohol licensing body for the state of Oklahoma, known as the Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement, or ABLE commission. There you can obtain a license application, as well as get additional information about the rules and regulations of alcohol distribution within Oklahoma. The main branch is at 4545 N. Lincoln Blvd., in Oklahoma City. The toll-ree number for calling the commission to request a license if 1-866-894-3517.
Go to one of several ABLE banch locations throughout the state. In the southwest, the address is 607 E. Avenue in Lawton, Okla. In the northeast, the location is 440 South Houston in Tulsa, Okla. There is also a McAlester office at 10 E. Washington. Workers at any of these sites can answer your questions or help with the applicantion process.
Obtain a wholesale winery license within the state through the ABLE main branch as outlined in Step 1 above.
Complete the entire application form.
Take the application, along with proof of age for the licensee (21 years or older), to the main branch for same-day licensing. Applications are accepted from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m., Monday through Friday. Applications cannot be walked through any other ABLE office.
Pay the application fee, which is based upon the type of application: An alcohol beverage employee license is $30, while a short-term charity/games employee pays only $15. An alcohol beverage agent pays $55, while the charity/games manager pays $50. An alcohol manufacturing agent also pays $55.
The ABLE commission accepts cash, money orders, cashiers checks, and most major credit cards. Upon meeting the requirements noted, a temporary 30-day license will be given. The permanent license will be received in the mail within the month.
Submit the application by certified mail to the main ABLE branch office. Include the licensing fee in via money order, cashier's check or credit card.
The certified-mail receipt will serve as a temporary license in conjunction with proof of identification. The temporary license expires after 30 days, by which time a permanent license should have been received.
You may also fax the application to the main ABLE branch along with an authorized credit card payment form.
Use the right form. Make sure when you are applying for a liquor license in California that you use the form from the Alcohol Beverage Control department. Using anything else slows down the process.
Include all information. Along with filing the proper form, information pertinent to all those involved in a controlling position in the establishment is needed. Information regarding your business structure determines all parties that need to file for a liquor license permit for your business.
Know beforehand. Before you or others involved in your business apply for a liquor license in California, know your facts. It's important to know without question that no felonies are on record for anyone applying for the license.
Pay a fee. A filing fee for a general off-sale beer and wine license of $100 dollars accompanies your application for a liquor license. Fees collected for an original general on-sale and off-sale full liquor license is $12,000. Applicant fees for on-sale beer license is $200 and for an on-sale beer and wine license is $300. These fees go into the Alcohol Beverage Control Fund.
Determine which license type you need. Wholesalers must fill out different documentation than a bar owner. Supporting documents probably will be required for both application processes. Make copies of items like your occupancy statement, business plan and proof of financial support for your business. Make triplicates of everything. Some applications require duplicate copies of application or supporting documents, so you want to make sure you have originals and plenty of copies.
File for a Federal Occupational Tax Stamp. Call 1-800-398-2282 to obtain the proper forms.
Obtain a state of Georgia Application for Alcohol Permit. All documents for wholesalers, liquor, malt beverages and wine retail are available on Georgia's Department of Revenue website. Access the "Alcohol and Tobacco Division "page. You also can call 404-417-4490 or go to the office at 1800 Century Center Blvd, 2nd Floor, Atlanta, Georgia 30345, to obtain forms and assistance.
File the local licensing documents. These are available online on your county's website.
Create a checklist of any forms that must be filed and note the chronological order. Contact your county or Georgia's Alcohol and Tobacco Division for any assistance. They will help you determine which licenses you need for your particular business.
Obtain employee permits, if required. Some counties, like Dekalb, require employee permits for anyone who works in a business that sells alcohol. File any forms that apply to you. File only after your liquor license is issued, but make sure you file, or you'll lose the license.