Table of Contents:
- How Long Does a DUI Stay on a Driving Record in Michigan?
- How Long Does a Wisconsin DUI Stay on Your Record?
- How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in Kentucky?
- How Long Does a DUI Stay on a Driving Record in Iowa?
- How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in New York?
- How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in Oregon?
Why a Michigan DUI Won't Be Expunged
In Michigan, there is a statute that prevents traffic offense convictions from being expunged from driving records. This is because three alcohol-related traffic offenses may result in a felony charge. It doesn't matter if the three offenses happen in the same year or over a span of 60 years; This is why a DUI needs to stay on the record. If the first DUI was expunged from your driving and criminal records, the driver could avoid being having the third offense charged as a felony.
If convicted of an OWI in Wisconsin, the offense stays on your record forever. Before a conviction and with a lawyer it is possible to get the charge reduced or a plea bargain.
The first OWI conviction involves several hundred dollars in fines, license suspension and alcohol assessment. The more OWIs, the larger the penalties, including jail time and installation of an ignition lock device.
Obviously, driving drunk includes many risks--such as injury and death--and penalties, but OWIs are also public record, available for anyone to read.
Wisconsin has the highest drunk driving rate in the country with more than 25 percent of the population admitting to driving drunk in 2008. Over 40 percent of all fatal traffic crashes in Wisconsin are alcohol-related.
Pick a designated driver, use mass transit, take a taxi or call a friend to take you home. The Tavern League of Wisconsin has the "Saferide Program" that works with many bars and restaurants to provide safe rides home.
A DUI conviction can be entered as a misdemeanor or a felony. A DUI conviction in Kentucky can carry criminal penalties such as fines, incarceration or community service as well as financial repercussions in the form of significantly higher insurance rates.
In Kentucky, all convictions stay on the operator's driving history for five years. If the driver has a commercial driver's license (CDL), the conviction will stay on his record for 10 years.
A DUI conviction will stay on a Kentucky criminal history forever unless the defendant has the record expunged. Only certain convictions qualify for expungement in Kentucky including some DUI convictions. If the record is expunged, it will not appear on a criminal history or background check.
Iowa law prohibits driving while your blood alcohol content measures .08 or higher, or while under the influence of any other controlled substance. If a law enforcement officer has reasonable grounds to suspect an OWI, a driver is required by law to submit to testing.
A first-time OWI results in a 180-day license revocation, according to the Iowa Department of Transportation. A second offense revokes your license for a year, and a third offense revokes your license for six years. Offenders can usually apply for a temporary restricted license after a certain period of time. Penalties increase when others are injured or killed as a result of an OWI.
An OWI violation on your driving record will increase the cost of your car insurance in Iowa. An OWI violation may also disqualify you from some jobs, according to The Unofficial DMV Guide.
Alcohol-Related Offenses in New York
New York law allows the state to charge a defendant for three different alcohol-related driving offenses: driving while intoxicated; driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) above .08; driving while ability impaired by alcohol.
New York Driving Priveleges
Upon arrest for an alcohol-related driving offense in New York your license will automatically be suspended. Your license will remain suspended until your case is disposed. If convicted, the minimum license suspension is six months retroactive to your date of arrest.
A conviction for an alcohol-related driving offense will remain on your New York driving record for 10 years.
A DUI conviction in Oregon will remain on your record forever. It does not drop off after a set amount of time, and Oregon state law precludes expungements for DUI convictions. Officially referred to as "Driving while Under the Influence of Intoxicants," or DUII, in Oregon, once a DUII is on your record, it's there for life.
Oregon DUII Laws
In Oregon, drivers over 21 are considered to be driving under the influence of intoxicants if their blood alcohol reading is 0.08 percent or more. If you are under 21, no alcohol is permitted to be in your system. Like most states, Oregon uses implied consent, meaning that by driving a motor vehicle you have implied that you will consent to a breathalyzer or urine test.
In most states, an arrest without a conviction can be removed from your record, but Oregon does not allow this for traffic offenses. So even if you are not convicted, the arrest will remain. However, arrests do not have the same negative consequences as convictions and should not have the negative impact on your life that a conviction can have.
Oregon does allow certain DUI offenders to enter into a diversion program. If you complete the requirements of the program, the charge is ultimately dismissed. The arrest will remain on your record, but no conviction will be entered.
Oregon does have mechanisms in place to have some crimes expunged from your record, or "set aside" as it's called in the state. However these mechanisms do not apply to driving under the influence of intoxicants, driving while suspended, or other traffic-related offenses.
Comparison to Other States
Oregon is relatively strict when it comes to criminal records, and DUI convictions and arrests. Most states will allow a DUI to be expunged after a set period of time. Utah, for example, allows DUI convictions to be expunged after 10 years if no subsequent offenses have occurred.