Table of Contents:
Licensed Child Care
The South Carolina Department of Social Services regulates licensed facilities to ensure safety, health and supervision among licensed child care providers. Workers in a licensed care facility must have graduated from high school and must not be on a sex offender registry. All licensed facilities are routinely inspected, and caregivers must have annual training.
Children can be left at home alone, but at what age depends on the parents' judgment and the child's age and maturity. For example, if a teenager is home alone after school and before parents return home from work, it is not considered neglect, but leaving a toddler home while running to the market would be.
Finding a good babysitter is difficult, and most parents rely on word of mouth. When interviewing potential babysitters, ask if they have Red Cross first aid certification or babysitting certification. Community organizations such as churches can also sometimes assist in finding suitable child care.
Illinois’ rules for children being left unsupervised -- either alone or to babysit others -- are surprisingly nonspecific and even conflicting. The Department of Children and Family Services doesn’t have much in the way of precise laws and those included in the state’s legislative code are brief. Some guidelines do exist, however, and if you stay within them, you shouldn’t run afoul of the law.
Illinois Labor Laws
A minor younger than 14 can’t work in Illinois, at least not for a business or in most capacities. Younger teenagers are legally permitted to take on some jobs, however, and babysitting is one of them. Under Illinois labor law, a 13-year-old is permitted to watch other children. But this statute only makes it legal for the teenager to do such work. It doesn’t necessarily follow that DCFS won’t find you guilty of neglect for leaving your children with a child younger than 14.
Although it contradicts Illinois’ labor law for minimum age requirements, the state’s code says it’s not permissible to leave your child alone without adult supervision until she turns 14. If you do, you may be guilty of child neglect, but typically only if the child is alone for an “unreasonable period of time.” The child neglect statutes don’t set a definitive number of hours for what constitutes unreasonable. You cannot leave younger children with a babysitter who hasn’t yet turned 14. Doing so is child endangerment, a Class A misdemeanor -- you’d risk up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. The child abandonment statute includes a more specific timeframe. If you leave your children with a sitter who hasn’t yet turned 14 for a period of 24 hours or more, this is abandonment and it’s a Class 4 felony. You could receive up to three years in prison.
Outside of Illinois’ labor and criminal laws, there’s no definitive age according to DCFS’s standards when a child is old enough to babysit or stay home alone. DCFS only looks to make sure the child is sufficiently mature and healthy enough to handle any unexpected circumstance or emergency that might arise, and it sets guidelines as to factors to look for that would confirm this.
Factors DCFS Considers
DCFS offers a booklet, available online, called “Preparing Children to Stay Alone.” It outlines 15 different factors a parent should consider when deciding whether it’s safe for a child to be left alone. If you elect to leave your child without a babysitter, DCFS suggests that, first and foremost, he should be comfortable with it. You should establish clear cut rules and rehearse what he should do in certain situations, such as if he’s locked out or a stranger rings the doorbell. The child should have emergency contact numbers for available adults, preferably nearby, in the event of a problem. The same guidelines apply to anyone you’re considering hiring to babysit.
When hiring a babysitter, ask for references and contact them. They will be able to help you decide whether the person you have in mind is responsible and will be a good match to care for your children.
A preferable babysitter is one that is trained in first aid and CPR. These certifications show that the individual has been trained on what to do in the event of a medical emergency. The American Red Cross offers first aid and CPR training and also has a babysitting training class. Ask the potential candidate to show his certification cards that prove the courses have been completed and the certifications are up to date.
If you have developed an emergency plan for events such as fire or carbon monoxide, share these plans with your babysitter. Leave a list of emergency contact numbers with them as well.
Express Your Expectations
When you hire a babysitter, tell them what you expect from them. Let the sitter know what areas are off limits and make sure that the sitter understands that he is to be watching the children at all times. Instruct your babysitter about what activities your children are allowed to participate in while you are away. In addition, make sure that your sitter is aware of safety guidelines involving any pool or playground areas.