Florida DUI Programs: What You Should Know & Schools Near You

Seat Belt
••• sefa ozel/iStock/GettyImages

Related Articles

Drivers who have received a driving under the influence (DUI) conviction in the Sunshine State or in another state while in possession of a Florida driver's license must attend a DUI program authorized by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). The FLHSMV provides oversight for programs located across the state.

Authorized DUI Programs in Florida

According to the Florida law firm Goldman Wetzel, any Florida driver who receives a DUI conviction must complete a program licensed and regulated by the FLHSMV. The department certifies instructors, investigates grievances, periodically measures the programs' effectiveness, and makes changes where needed. The FLHSMV's Bureau of Motorist Compliance also provides education and training to personnel and develops the curriculum for the programs administered.

The goal of the programs is to educate attendees about the effects of driving while impaired, assess their substance abuse issues and help them find alternatives to driving under the influence. The programs also satisfy the court and licensing requirements.

Differences Between Level I and Level II Programs

According to Florida Statutes Motor Vehicles Section 322.292, when sentenced with a DUI, the court will order a defendant to attend either a Level I course for first-time offenders or a Level II course for repeat offenders.

The Level I course is a minimum of 12 hours of classroom time. It offers interactive and informative educational techniques about the use of alcohol and drugs and evaluations for substance abuse and psychosocial care. Each school has different prices for their Level I courses, but attendees usually pay at least $260.

The Level II course is a minimum of 21 hours and incorporates mostly interactive techniques in a group setting to deliver educational lessons to participants. This course is smaller than the Level I course; it does not exceed more than 15 students. It focuses primarily on treatment and refers most students to a treatment provider. The Level II class fee depends on school location, but is usually at least $425.

Attending DUI School

Those attending DUI programs cannot do so online. They must go to a physical location to participate in classes in the area where they live, work or go to school. However, the court sometimes grants exemptions to allow attendees to go to other locations. Most programs usually provide day, night and weekend classes, so participants can find a class schedule that works for them.

When registering, participants must show:

  • Legal identification.
  • Traffic citation for the DUI.
  • Copy of the arrest affidavit. 
  • Results of the chemical test (breath, blood, or urine) or proof of the driver's refusal to take it.
  • Court order and judgment.
  • Record of the participant's complete driving history.

DUI School for Alachua, Bradford, Dixie, Gilchrist, Levy and Union Counties

North Central Florida Safety Council Level I courses are $313 and Level II courses are $458, as of 2020.

Program Name  Address  Contact Information 

North Central Florida Safety Council, Inc.

3710 Northwest 51st Street

Suite A

Gainesville, FL 32606

352-377-2566

Fax: 352-377-7544

NCFSC.com

DUI School for Baker, Clay, Columbia, Duval, Hamilton, Lafayette, Nassau, St. Johns and Suwannee Counties

Northeast Florida Safety Council Level I courses are $322.59 and Level II courses are $472, as of 2020.

Program Name Address  Contact Information 

Northeast Florida Safety Council, Inc.

1725 Art Museum DriveJacksonville, FL 32207

904-399-3119Fax: 904-399-8001www.NEFSC.org

DUI School for Bay, Calhoun, Gulf Holmes Jackson and Washington Counties

Panama City DUI Level I courses are $289 and Level II courses are $435, as of 2020.

Program Name Address  Contact Information 

14th Judicial Circuit DUI Program

2230 East Avenue

Panama City, FL 32405

850-872-7730Fax: 850-784-0716www.PCDUI.com

DUI Schools for Brevard County

Florida Safety Council Level I courses are $285 and Level II courses are $430, as of 2020.

Program Name Address  Contact Information 

Florida Safety Council

1515 Elizabeth Street

Suite C

Melbourne, FL 32901

321-952-5327

Fax: 321-727-7429 www.Floridasafety.org

Florida Safety Council

250 N. Courtenay ParkwaySuite 201Merritt Island, FL 32953

321-631-2347Fax: 321-639-2593 

www.Floridasafety.org

DUI Schools for Broward County

Metro Traffic School Level I courses are $298 and Level II courses are $443. Broward Dade Safety Council Level I courses are $301 and Level II courses are $446, as of 2020.

Program Name Address  Contact Information

Metro Traffic School

2217 South University DriveDavie, FL 33324

954-922-3000Fax: 954-476-0033 www.metrotrafficschool.com

Broward Dade Safety Council

3710 W. Oakland Park BoulevardLauderdale Lakes, FL 33311

954-535-9629

www.browardsafety.org

DUI School for Citrus Hernando, Lake, Marion and Sumpter Counties

West Central Florida Driver Improvement Level I courses are $309 and Level II courses are $458.50, as of 2020.

Program Name Address  Contact Information 

West Central Florida Driver Improvement, Inc.

225 Northeast 14th StreetOcala, FL 34470

352-622-6991Fax: 352-622-4725www.wcfdi.com

DUI School for Charlotte, Glades, Hendry and Lee Counties

Southwest Florida Safety Council Level I courses are $306 and Level II courses are $456, as of 2020.

Program Name Address Contact Information

Southwest Florida Safety Council, Inc.

1714 Evans AvenueFort Myers, FL 33901

Lee: 239-332-3008Charlotte: 941-629-5635Glades: 863-675-0544 Hendry: 863-675-0544Fax: 239-332-3093www.safedrivingschool.com

DUI School for Collier County

Southwest Florida Safety Council Level I courses are $306 and Level II courses are $456, as of 2020.

Program Name Address  Contact Information 

Southwest Florida Safety Council, Inc.

265 Airport-Pulling Road Naples, Florida 34104

800-437-3008; 239-793-5552Fax: 239-775-1882www.safedrivingschool.com

DUI School for Desoto, Manatee and Sarasota Counties

State College of Florida Level I courses are $300 and Level II courses are $445, as of 2020.

Program Name Address  Contact Information

State College of Florida Traffic Safety Institute

5840 26th Street West Bradenton, FL 34207

Bradenton: 941-752-5286 Sarasota: 941-487-7400 Fax: 941-751-4389www.scf.edu

DUI School for Escambia and Santa Rosa Counties

Lakeview Center Level I courses are $294 and Level II courses are $439, as of 2020.

Program Name Address Contact Information

Lakeview Center, Inc.

1900 North Palafox StreetPensacola, FL 32501-2143

850-494-5656Fax: 850-494-5664https://www.elakeviewcenter.org/DUI/class-locations

DUI Schools for Flagler County

Sunshine Safety Council Level I courses are $318.50 and Level II courses are $446, as of 2020.

Progam Name  Address Contact Information 

Sunshine Safety Council, Inc.

661 Beville RoadSuite 206South Daytona, Florida 32119

386-258-2132Fax: 386-252-1875www.sunshinesafety.org

DUI School for Franklin, Gadsen, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Wakulla, Madison and Taylor Counties

North Florida Safety Council Level I courses are $317 and Level II courses are $465, as of 2020.

Program Name  Address Contact Information 

North Florida Safety Council, Inc.

2002 Old St. Augustine RoadBuilding ESuite E42Tallahassee, FL 32301

850-877-5193

Fax: 850-877-8428 www.nflasafety.com

DUI School for Hardee, Highlands and Polk Counties

Tri-County Human Services Level I courses are $308.50 and Level II courses are $458, as of 2020.

Program Name  Address Contact Information 

Tri-County Human Services, Inc.

1811 Crystal Lake DriveLakeland, FL 33801

863-701-1919Fax: 863-606-1814www.tchsonline.org

DUI School for Hillsborough County

DUI Counterattack Hillsborough Level I courses are $290 and Level II courses are $435, as of 2020.

Program Name Address Contact Information 

DUI Counterattack Hillsborough, Inc.

4711 North Hubert AvenueTampa, FL 33614

813-875-6201Fax: 813-876-0648www.drivesafetampa.org

DUI School for Indian River, Martin Okeechobee and St. Lucie Counties

C.O.R.E Program Level I courses are $300 and Level II courses are $445, as of 2020.

Program Name  Address  Contact Information 

C.O.R.E. Program, Inc.

907 Johnson AvenueStuart, FL 34994

772-286-7333Fax: 772-223-0903 www.coreprogram.org

DUI Schools for Miami-Dade County

Metro Traffic School Level I courses are $298 and Level II courses are $443. Advocate Program Level I courses are $305 and Level II courses are $450, as of 2020.

Program Name Address Contact Information 

Metro Traffic School Dade County

225 Northeast 8th StreetHomestead, FL 33030

305-252-4002www.metrotrafficschool.com

Advocate Program, Inc.West Dade

1150 NW 72 Avenue

Suite 200

Miami, FL 33126

305-704-0200 ext. 158http://advocateprogram.org/

DUI School for Monroe County

Call the Advocate DUI Program for pricing information.

Program Name  Address Contact Information 

Advocate DUI Program of Monroe County, Inc.

11400 Overseas Highway Suite 210Marathon, FL 33050

305-289-5605Fax: 305-289-0268

DUI School for Okaloosa and Walton Counties

Bridgeway Center Level I courses are $309 for office registration and $326.50 to register online. Level II courses are $456 for office registration and $478 to register online, as of 2020.

Program Name  Address  Contact Information 

Bridgeway Center, Inc.

137 Hospital DriveFt. Walton Beach, FL 32548

850-833-7474Fax: 850-833-9150www.safedriveschools.org

DUI School for Orange, Osceola, and Seminole Counties

Florida Safety Council Level I courses are $285 and Level II courses are $430, as of 2020.

Program Name Address Contact Information 

Florida Safety Council

1505 East Colonial DriveOrlando, FL 32803

Orange: 407-896-1894Osceola: 407-846-2555Seminole: 407-831-7200Fax: 407-895-2650www.floridasafety.org

DUI Schools for Palm Beach County

Pride Integrated Services Level I courses are $312.00 and Level II courses are $457, as of 2020.

Metro Traffic School Level I courses are $298 and Level II courses are $443, as of 2020.

Program Name  Address  Contract Information 

Pride Integrated Services, Inc. of Palm Beach County

1897 Palm Beach Lake BoulevardSuite 121West Palm Beach, FL 33409

561-615-0767Fax: 561-615-0878www.aboutpride.org

Metro Traffic School Palm Beach

4731 West Atlantic Avenue Suite B3Delray Beach, FL 33445

561-395-8989www.metrotrafficschool.com

DUI Schools for Pasco County

Pride Integrated Services Level I courses are $314 and Level II courses are $459, as of 2020.

Program Name Address Contact Information

Pride Integrated Services, Inc. of Pasco County

7619 Little RoadSuite 350New Port Richey, FL 34654

727-847-3411Fax: 727-847-3513www.aboutpride.org

Pride Integrated Services, Inc. of Pasco County

7064 Ft. King RoadZephyrhills, FL 33541

813-780-8282Fax: 813-788-1912www.aboutpride.org

DUI School for Pinellas County

Call Suncoast Safety Council for pricing information.

Program Name  Address  Contact Information 

Suncoast Safety Council, Inc.

1145 Court StreetClearwater, FL 33756

727-442-0233Fax: 727-447-1677www.safety.org

DUI School for Putnam and Volusia Counties

Sunshine Safety Council Level I courses are $318.50 and Level II courses are $446, as of 2020.

Program Name 

Address 

Contact Information 

Sunshine Safety Council, Inc.

661 Beville RoadSuite 206South Daytona, Florida 32119

386-253-6400Fax: 386-254-3458www.sunshinesafety.org