Salaried exempt and nonexempt employees in Ohio receive minimum wage and similar time-off benefits. However, the amount of minimum wage differs, as does the wages they receive if they work overtime. The state's salaried employee laws comply with federal Fair Labor Standards Act, or FLSA, policies.
Administrative, Professional and Executive Employees
Administrative, professional and executive employees in Ohio must meet Fair Labor Standards Act, or FLSA, classifications. These salaried employees are exempt employees because they do not receive overtime pay. To meet the administrative classification employees must provide high level support to senior leaders. Work they perform impacts senior leaders' ability to meet organizational objectives.
Human resource directors, compensation managers and benefits specialists are types of administrative jobs. Professional salaried employees require high knowledge and skill levels to perform their jobs. They might also require licenses and certifications. Scientists, physicians and attorneys are types of professional jobs. Executives are senior leaders at organizations, such as Chief Executive Officers, Chief Financial Officers and Chief Administrative Officers.
Employees who do not meet administrative, professional and executive classifications are non-exempt workers. Although they might exercise independent judgment to perform their jobs, they generally receive direction and guidance from more senior employees. Examples of non-exempt salaried employees are executive assistants, customer service representatives and data entry clerks.
Minimum wage rates for exempt and non-exempt employees in Ohio are different. At the time of publication, non-exempt employees must receive an hourly minimum wage of $7.00. The state's minimum wage rate is less than the federal $7.25 hourly rate. Employers who must comply with both the federal and state labor laws must pay their employees at the federal rate. Salaried employees who are exempt have a minimum wage rate of $455 a week, according to FLSA laws. Ohio also requires that employers pay their employees by no later than the 15th and 30th of the month.
After non-exempt salaried employees work more than 40 hours a week, they must receive overtime pay at a rate of one and one half time their normal hourly rate. For example, employees with normal hourly wages of $40 must receive $60 when they work overtime. The state does not have overtime laws based upon the number of hours employees work in a day. An exception applies for employers who generate less than $150,000 in annual revenues. These employers are not required to pay employees in the state overtime.