Noise-disturbance laws in California have been established to prevent residents from creating unreasonable amounts of noise pollution. In some cases, loud noises are unavoidable. In other cases, they are. Those who feel they have a valid noise complaint should seek police assistance. In some cases, a civil suit can be filed against the offender.
Under the guidelines of Section 415 of the California Penal Code, it is illegal for any resident to knowingly create loud and unreasonable noises as a means of disturbing another. Those convicted of violating this law face a maximum of 90 days in jail and/or a maximum fine of $400.
Certain California municipalities, such as Long Beach, prohibit construction noise during certain hours unless the construction work is considered an emergency. In Long Beach, nonemergency construction work can only take place between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. Monday through Friday. On Saturdays, it can only be done between 9 a.m. and 6 p.m. Construction work can be done on Sundays before 9 a.m. and after 6 p.m,, but only if the construction workers have a permit to do so.
Car alarms can are useful when they prevent a vehicle from being stolen. However, they can be annoying when they go off without good reason. In some areas of California, such as Long Beach and San Francisco, officers have the right to enter a vehicle and disarm the alarm if it's been going off for more than 15 minutes. Long Beach also allows the officer to tow the vehicle at the owner's expense.