The Ohio Bureau of Wages and Workplace Safety enforces the state's wage laws. Ohio employers must comply with federal laws outlined in the Fair Labor Standards Act. These laws -- applicable to employees paid on an hourly as well as a salary basis -- set minimum pay rates based on a standard 40-hour workweek. Certain white-collar employees are exempt from provisions in the Fair Labor Standards Act. Ohio employers whose businesses gross less than $150,000 annually are subject to different laws.
Wages and Overtime
In Ohio, the minimum wage was $7.30 an hour as of 2010, 5 cents higher than the national minimum wage. When employees work more than 40 hours in a seven-day workweek, employers must pay an overtime rate of one and a half times the regular hourly rate for each hour worked over 40. If an employer pays a fixed salary rather than by the hour, the salary must reflect the number of hours the employer requires the salaried employee to work -- including overtime hours at the overtime rate.
Ohio does not require employers who gross less than $150,000 a year to pay their employees overtime. Under federal law, Ohio employees in some administrative, professional, computer expert and outside sales positions are exempt from Fair Labor Standards Act overtime. This means employers do not have to pay these workers an overtime rate. To be exempt from overtime, the employees must earn a salary of at least $455 a week.
Ohio employers may not pay a lower salary to employees doing work equal to that of higher-paid employees due to discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, age, national origin, or ancestry. However, employers may pay a lower salary based on differentials not related to these factors, including seniority, a merit system, or employee productivity.