While some states require inspections for all vehicles, the state of Georgia only requires inspections in specific cases and for particular types of vehicles. Depending on the type of vehicle and inspection, inspections are intended to ensure that vehicles operating on Georgia roads are safe and legally obtained, and to help maintain good air quality in metropolitan areas. Vehicles must pass these inspections before the state will issue a title and registration.
For metro Atlanta residents in Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Paulding, and Rockdale counties, all gasoline-powered cars and light-duty pickup trucks with a model year more than two years and less than 25 years older than the calendar year are required to have an annual emissions inspection. In 2010, this range would be vehicles from 1986 to 2007. The inspection tests for ozone-forming pollutants and particle pollutants being released from the vehicle, and is part of Georgia's efforts to meet federal clean air standards. Any issues leading to emissions above federal certification levels must be fixed before the owner will receive proof of inspection. There are also certain exemptions for emissions exemptions; for example, seniors age 65 or older who own a car more than ten years old and drive fewer than 5,000 miles per year are exempt from emissions inspections. Exemptions can also be given for cars that use alternative fuels, kit cars, and hot rods.
Older or Untitled Vehicles
Georgia requires that all vehicles less than 25 years old and registered in the state have a Georgia title, or proof of ownership. For vehicles over 25 years old that do not require a title, a T-22B Certification of Inspection form is required in order to register the vehicle. This inspection is performed by a law enforcement officer, or an employee of the county tag office. The person doing the inspection will inspect the vehicle’s serial plate, confirm the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN), and then check with the Georgia Crime Information Center to make sure that the vehicle is not stolen. The form will then be certified so the car can be registered. This type of inspection is also required if the vehicle registration is being transferred from a state that does not require titles.
Salvaged or Rebuilt Vehicles
In order to register a vehicle that has been salvaged or rebuilt, that vehicle must be towed to a state-approved Inspection Station for inspection. The vehicle owner must supply photos of the vehicle in its wrecked/salvaged condition before the repairs were made, a completed tag/title application, a completed T-22 R Request for Inspection of a Rebuilt Motor Vehicle form, a completed Labor and Parts Certification, Form T-129, and a check for the fee. In 2010, the fee is $118. Each individual inspection station may also charge its own fee for the inspection in addition to the state fee. Vehicles from out of state with titles indicating that the vehicle has been rebuilt or salvaged must also undergo this type of inspection.