Colorado permits medical patients with a doctor's prescription to buy or grow marijuana for their personal use. Marijuana laws in Colorado are progressive, as the state has lowered the charges and punishments for minor amounts of possession. Though medical patients can grow their own marijuana, non-patients are not allowed and could face a fine and prison time.
Medical Marijuana Users
It is legal for medical patients to possess and grow marijuana for their personal medical use. In 2000, a Colorado state amendment passed which set up a confidential, state-operated registry for medicinal marijuana users. A registered user may have 2 oz. of usable marijuana on their person. Additionally, each user can grow and cultivate no more than six marijuana plants.
Growing cannabis plants in Colorado is illegal for anyone other than medical marijuana users. If arrested with 1 oz. of usable marijuana on your person with no payment involved, you are charged with a petty offense and given a $100 fine. However, if you are caught selling or cultivating within 1,000 feet of a school, you will face a harsh felony charge and could serve between 8 to 24 years in prison and pay up to a $100,000 fine.
Cultivating and then transporting marijuana in excess of 100 lbs. will result in a felony charge if caught and prosecuted. A marijuana transportation felony includes penalties such as 8 to 24 years in jail and a fine ranging from $5,000 to $1,000,000. The time you would face in prison or be fined depends on many factors and others marijuana charges that could be brought against you.