Kenya's Visa Requirement

By Ann Murray
Without a visa, visitors from many countries will not be permitted to enter Kenya.
kenya image by TEMISTOCLE LUCARELLI from <a href=''></a>

In addition to requiring a passport to enter the country, Kenya requires visitors to apply for a visa. There are some countries that are exempt from these requirements and others where visas are only issued on a case-by-case basis. Without a visitor&rsquo;s visa, citizens of most countries will not be permitted to visit Kenya.

Where to Apply

Kenyan embassies are located in many countries, and will provide visas to travelers who apply. Kenyan embassies can be found in Australia, Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Canada, China, Congo, Egypt, France, Germany, India, Israwl, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Netherlands, Rwanda, South Africa, Sweden, Uganda, United Kingdom and United Stated. Kenyan consulates can be found in Croatia, Cyprus, Germany, Hong Kong, Philippines, Spain, Switzerland and Thailand.

Application Process

It is possible to apply for a visa at a Kenyan embassy or online via the Embassy of Kenya website. The application requires a valid passport, a completed application form, a copy of your flight itinerary, two passport photos and visa fees (as of 2010, $25 for a single entry, $50 for multiple entries and $10 for single transit.)


A single entry visa allows you to enter Kenya one time. A transit visa allows you to stop over in Kenya for a short time, up to 24 hours. A multiple entry visa allows multiple entries into the country. If you do not leave the airport, you do not need a visa.

Countries with Additional Approval Requirements

Individuals from some countries will need to undergo a more complex visa approval process through the Director of Immigration Services in Nairobi. These countries include: Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cameroon, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Mali, North Korea, Senegal, Somalia, Syria, Palestine and Tajikistan, according to the Embassy of Kenya.

Exempt Countries

There are some countries that are exempt from visa requirements when visiting Kenya. These countries include: the Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Botswana, Brunei, Cyprus, Dominica, Ethiopia, Fiji Islands, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Jamaica, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Maldives, Mauritius, Namibia, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Turkey, Tuvalu, Uganda, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Work Visa

If you want to work while you are in Kenya, a standard visa is not enough. You will need to apply for a special pass from the Director of Immigration Services in Nairobi. They grant work visas for up to three months.