The State of Arkansas has employment regulations designed to protect employees from unfair and unsafe work practices. The Arkansas Department of Labor outlines Arkansas overtime laws, which become relevant when employees work more than full-time hours. Employees usually get a higher hourly wage for overtime hours, but some types of employees are exempt from overtime laws.
The Arkansas Department of Labor explains that employees should get overtime wages, which are higher than normal wages, when they work more than 40 hours in a week. Common overtime pay is 1.5 times the normal wage or double the normal wage and the actual overtime pay amount set by the federal government is a minimum of 1.5 times the normal wage.
The Arkansas Department of Labor requires employers to keep records in a safe place of employee names, social security numbers, hours, hourly wages and overtime wages for each work day and work week.
Certain types of employees do not always get overtime pay. The Arkansas Department of Labor explains that commission-paid sales people who perform most of their work away from the employer's premises, highly paid executives and administrators, public officials, charitable workers without employer-employee relationships, piece-rate workers, employees for nonprofit organizations that operate for seven or fewer months each year, independent contractors, government employees and students performing work for schools that they attend may be exempt from overtime wages.
Public agencies can award extra time off in a subsequent week to compensate for work hours that exceeded 40 hours in one week, rather than paying overtime wages.