Thievery has been a crime for as long as mankind can remember. In Ohio, felony theft is a serious offense and can be charged any time the value of property stolen exceeds a certain amount or when specific kinds of property are stolen. Felony theft charges bring with them serious consequences, including jail time and fines.
Ohio criminalizes theft at varying degrees. People commit a theft in Ohio whenever they deprive the owner of property or services intentionally. Obtaining or exerting control over property or services without the consent of the owner, in a way beyond the scope of granted consent, or by deception, threat or intimidation constitutes theft in Ohio. (Ohio Revised Statutes § 2913.02)
Generally, Ohio law differentiates theft on three levels: as a petty misdemeanor, a misdemeanor and as a felony. Felony theft is generally for any property in value of more than $500. However, felony theft can also be charged when the value of the property is less than $500. If the property stolen is a credit card, motor vehicle, printed form of a check or a blank form of a manufacturer's motor vehicle certificate, the crime is charged as a fifth degree felony. (Ohio Revised Statutes § 2913.71)
The punishments for felony theft depend largely on the crime charged. For example, a defendant is charged with a fifth degree felony faces fines of up to $2,500 and between six and 12 months in jail. A person charged with a first degree felony theft charge faces more significant charges. Anyone stealing more than one million dollars in property can be sentenced to up to $20,000 in fines and between three and 10 years in jail. (Ohio Revised Code § 2929.18 and § 2929.13)