Renters Laws in Arizona

By Julie Segraves
Arizona law, landlords, tenants
apartment for rent image by dead_account from Fotolia.com

Arizona, like many states, has laws delineating the rights and responsibilities of landlords and tenants. These regulations protect tenants from being discriminated against or cheated by landlords, but also protect landlords from bad tenants. It also helps prevent problem buildings in neighborhoods because it gives tenants a recourse if the landlord neglects the building's upkeep.

Housing Rights

When renting an apartment, you cannot be denied housing because you have children, however the landlord can require that only two people can occupy each bedroom, so the apartment must be large enough for your family size. Likewise they can't discriminate against you for your race, creed, color, religion, sex, familial status, handicap or national origin. If a subdivision is designated for seniors, you can be refused housing if you don't qualify.

Renting

When you rent an apartment, the landlord must notify you of the free availability, from the state, of the tenant's rights act booklet. They must give you a move-in inspection form on which to record damage that already exists in the apartment. They must give you the name, address and phone number of the property manager and the owner or owner's agent. If there is a pool, you must be given a pool safety notice. You must also be notified of any lead-based paint hazards The landlord can charge a security deposit, not to exceed one and one half times one month's rent. This security deposit must be refunded to you within 14 days of the end of your tenancy. Unless you are being evicted, you may be present for the move-out damage assessment. If damages are found, you must be given an itemized list of the deductions from your security deposit. If you don't pay the rent on time, the landlord can collect the rent and reasonable fees specified in the lease. The landlord must give you five days' notice, in person or by certified or registered mail, of eviction proceedings if you fall behind in your rent.

Other Provisions

Landlords must maintain their buildings in compliance with building, health and safety codes. This includes providing hot and cold running water and heat and air conditioning when weather dictates, If the landlord fails in this obligation, and compliance would have cost $300 or less, the tenant can collect damages for the breach, The tenant can also correct the condition at the landlord's expense. If the landlord is in breach of the rental agreement, and the tenant informs him in writing of the breach, the landlord has 10 days remedy the complaint. Failure to do so results in the termination of the lease, 10 days from the date the problem should have been fixed. This time frame drops to five days if it is a health or safety issue. Tenants, for their part, must maintain and keep clean the premises and use the appliances appropriately. Tenants can be held responsible for the conduct and actions of their guests.

About the Author